Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These were so good! The only thing I changed was regular apple cider vinegar because I didn't have rice vinegar. Better than the state fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliandPie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevenson, Washington, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
5 star. I made homemade pitas (easy to make!) with Peppy's Pita Bread recipe on allrecipes. I made my own balsalmic vinaigrette and my own Greek seasoning. I used 3 full boneless skinless chicken breasts and had more than enough for 4 pitas. I cut them in thirds to make them grill faster (8 mins each side). I also used regular black pitted olives (way less expensive). Next time I will make half the amount of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
My husband and daughter loved this. There was only one problem. No leftovers. Darn! I'll have to double the chicken in the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Great and coming from a greek family we changed just a few things I S & P garlic powder the tomatoes and onions a few hour in advance. We also add a pinch of cayanee pepper to the sauce use real greek yougart with lemon juice, olive oil, dill, and garlic S & P and drained cucumber. Seems like alot of changes but it's not was so so so good. I thought I was in GREECE OOPA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffneyrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Fantastic! Didn't change a thing and my husband & I loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! A little time consuming to make, but 100+++% worth the effort involved. If you prep these in stages, they're much more manageable to make. I quickly threw together my marinade / tzatziki sauce early this afternoon, so all I had to do at dinnertime was grill my chicken (on my indoor reversible grill). To all of you wanting to give this a try, I have a few tips to share. First, you MUST use balsamic vinaigrette (found in the salad dressings aisle of your grocer), DO NOT use straight-up balsamic vinegar! Vinaigrette contains spices & EVOO to help tame the tartness of the vinegar. Second, Greek yogurt is a FAR superior choice for this cucumber sauce. Tzatziki should be thick, not thin or watery. Unless you strain your yogurt, you will end up w/ runny sauce. Greek yogurt has already been strained. Yes, it's more expensive, but it's also more convenient. Finally, to ensure your cucumbers properly "sweat," toss them w/ salt (salt draws OUT water), & then do what reviewer MOLLE888 did - place in a colander / sieve set over a bowl w/ another bowl on top. Put a heavy can in the bowl to add some pressure & watch the liquid seep to the bottom! You will have PERFECT tzatziki every time (promise!). Served w/ red onion, tomatoes & iceberg lettuce (no pepperoncini or olives for us), these are a spot on copycat of our favorite local chain's Athenian chicken pitas! Seasoned curly fries completed our meal. Thanks for sharing, Chris! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
We loved this! Even our three year old ate it. I put a little hummus on my pita also. Can't wait to have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
10 STARS!!!!!!!! If I could rate it more, I would. Love the chicken. Love the tatziki. My favourite recipe from this site and I love many of them. I serve with greek potatoes (recipe from this site also) and it tastes like the restaurant. No more paying so much for something I can make at home. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Excellent recipe for chicken! I only used the souvlaki marinade part of this recipe. I chopped the breasts into thirds, grilled them and then served them with hummus, pitas and greek salad. The chicken is always very moist and tasty. It has become a recipe we often serve to our guests - resulting in a number of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This turned out fantastic!!! Loved it. I only had balsamic vinegar on hand so I just added evoo to dilute it. Also, I went light on the olives and pepperoncini knowing there is alot of vinegar in both of them. I coul'd find any pita bread I liked so I used naan bread which knocked it out of the park for me yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingersnap6000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States