Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was a delicious dinner for us tonight out on our deck. The prep. was easy and the taste was out of this world. The only tiny complaint I had was that by grilling the pitas they were a bit too tough for me. But I am really looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Terrific recipe! I have played with many marinades for the chicken, and this one is the easiest by far! We loved it! I like to top the souvlaki with a little more than just the Tzatziki Sauce. I usually chop up red and green peppers and red onions nice and small - it adds so veggies and some flavor to the pita. We then usually make a nice Greek Salad with the romaine, tomatoes, peppers, feta, kalamata olives, and grape leaves. Delish! Thank you for such a simple and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious! It's one of my family's favorite meals now. Especially good if you use nice, soft Naan bread. Thanks Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Vinaigrette, NOT Vinegar. This recipe is a family favorite. We like to serve it with homemade pita bread and a side of hummus. Those reviews that say the marinade is too sour probably used balsamic vinegar, rather than a vinaigrette salad dressing. Vinaigrette is 3 parts oil, 1 part vinegar shaken together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
We thought this was very good. I didn't make the tzatziki sauce because life got in the way, so I served it with more of the bottled balsamic vinaigrette, which I thought it really needed. A lot of the sour-in-your-face-flavor is lost when you grill it, so I might actually try baking or pan-cooking my meat next time (cut into chunks of course) so as to keep more "sauce" glazed onto the meat. I oiled my pitas with olive oil before grilling them, and while they did hold up better this way than without grilling them, for some reason the bread also got sort of tough. That might be just due to a poor brand of pitas, though, so I'm not counting that against the recipe. Thanks for the recipe, I'm sure we'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This is great! This is my second time making it and the only thing I changed was to use nonfat plain yogurt and lite sour cream. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was really good, I followed the recipe almost exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I've been using this sight for years and this is the first time that I have rated a recipe. I prepared the chicken just as instructed and it was soooooo good! I used a different recipe for my tzatziki sauce, but the chicken was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia Banks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These were so good! The only thing I changed was regular apple cider vinegar because I didn't have rice vinegar. Better than the state fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliandPie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevenson, Washington, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
5 star. I made homemade pitas (easy to make!) with Peppy's Pita Bread recipe on allrecipes. I made my own balsalmic vinaigrette and my own Greek seasoning. I used 3 full boneless skinless chicken breasts and had more than enough for 4 pitas. I cut them in thirds to make them grill faster (8 mins each side). I also used regular black pitted olives (way less expensive). Next time I will make half the amount of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 338) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States