Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Love this tzadziki (sp?). Being a NYer living in the South, it's kinda hard to find Greek food but a few weeks ago I had the most amazing chicken gyro and was determined to learn to recreate it at home. This is it! The chicken marinade is fine, but the cucumber sauce is the real winner, I used red wine vinegar and dried dill, still came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is really good. The marinade for the chicken is tasty, though could be a bit saltier (but keep in mind that the tzatziki and the feta are both salty too, so use a sparing hand). The tzatziki sauce recipe is nuanced and delicious - since I didn't have Greek seasoning on hand, I found a great recipe (using LOTS of different spices) at http://www.food.com/recipe/greek-seasoning-mix-61579. The sauce portion as written is quite large, and could probably feed 6-8 people, so the two of us had a lot of leftovers at the end. We ended up doing a variation using ground beef seasoned with oregano, garlic powder, salt, and pepper instead of chicken - WOW! So good with a side of diced and salted cucumbers and tomatoes and the leftover yogurt sauce, served with white rice or in pita. Delicious recipe... plan to do tons of variations on this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
This was awesome! The only thing I did different was use apple cider vinegar in place of the rice vinegar and dried dill weed instead of fresh because that is what I had on hand. Phenomenal recipe - I will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Super super good!!!! A little too much oregano in the marinade. I made a couple small changes. I broiled the chicken as some other reviewers did. I didnt have any greek seasoning for the tzatziki but there is a recipe for it on this site and I used everything in that recipe except the mint, thyme and majoram. It came out delicious!! I have been craving gyros from a little place down in Brandon, FL called Romano's. This is not Romano's gyros, but it definitely satisfied my craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
YUM!! The Tzatziki was perfect and I have been looking for a "just right" recipe for Tzatziki sauce. The sauce was the star here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
So simple and delish! I used baby (seedless) cucumbers and chopped them instead of shredding. I also doubled the amount of cucumbers and garlic for the sauce. I used Greek Yogurt and had no problem with the sauce being watery. I followed the rest of the recipe to a tee. This completely satisfied my craving for gyros. THANK YOU FOR POSTING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is so good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elzorro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Delicious !! I sliced the chicken and marinated as per recipe but omitted the lemon juice and added greek seasonings. Made a simple tzatziki sause with diced cucumber, greek yogert, lemon juice, greek seasonins, garlic, salt & olive oil. I also made a greek salad & served it on white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥PaliLuv♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was SO good! I wanted the chicken to be well marinated, so I cut it up into one inch pieces, marinated the pieces for about three hours, then skewered them and grilled the skewers. I made the sauce two hours in advance so the flavors would have some time to meld and it was perfect! (Note: I couldn’t find fresh dill so I substituted 1 tsp dried dill in place of the fresh). My husband couldn’t get enough of it! Thanks for the great recipe! Well definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! I didn't have Greek seasoning, so I used what others suggested; a mixture of garlic and onion powders, oregano and basil. Other than that, made recipe as stated. So good! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 342) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States