Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used fat free balsamic vinaigrette from Trader Joes in the marinade. I may make just the chicken sometime because I thought it was very flavorful on its own. I used low fat sour cream and fat free yogurt in the tzatziki sauce. I used fresh dill from my garden. I may have put too much in because it was very strong. The sauce still tasted very good, though. I don't like cucumbers, but for some reason I like tzatziki sauce. I didn't use the olives or pepperoncini, but I don't think they were missed. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
yum! I used balsamic vinegar and oil as substitute. I peeled the cucumber, and stuck it in the blender, and just squeezed the water from them. (didn't salt them) and I didn't used the greek seasoning, as I didn't have any. I also precut the chicken, before marinating, and broiled it. Everything was great and everyone ate it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This was really easy and super good. I mixed boneless thighs and breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Yummy! I used bl/sl thighs and added 1 tbsp of minced garlic to the marinade. I used store bought tzatziki sauce and used lettuce and tomatoes for the toppings. A hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
The marinade on the chicken is very good and this is now what I use when I make chicken gyros. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I thought this was just okay. With all the seasoning, I thought it would be more flavorful. Family ate it up so I can't complain too much. Maybe a little more tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Great recipe with lots of flavor! For the marinade I just used balsamic vinegar to reduce some calories. It would be good with a mix of balsamic and italian dressing if you don't have the vinaigrette. The tzatziki sauce was good but it needed a bit more zip to it and I doubled the garlic. Maybe next time I will replace the rice vinegar with apple cider or more balsamic. We layered ours with all the above except the olives. Great tasting! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I just used the marinaded chicken - delicious! Put it with basmati rice, cooked onions and peppers. Also delicious dipped in tzatziki sauce. Would be great in pita bread but seems like too many carbs with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Everything turned out great! Was a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Delicious. Everyone loved it. Used plain Greek yogurt because I happened to have it on hand. I let my chicken marinate for about 4 hours and it was flavorful and moist. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States