Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great sauce. Does take some prep time, so not a quick meal to throw together during the work week. My family loves this recipe and we make it several times throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I fixed this last night as written. My son, who is a chicken souvlaki connoisseur, couldn't lay off it! Dinner last night. And this morning I found a note from him saying he couldn't resist & had had it for a midnight snack. While the list of ingredients for the sauce seems long, it takes no time to whip it up. This is most definitely going into our regular dinner rotation. With winter upon us, we're going to grill a big batch of the chicken & have it ready to go in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This recipe is LEGIT! Turned out much better than expected...as good as any gyro I've had before. So I didn't have any Balsamic Vinagrette so I used the following for my marinade: 1/4 cup olive oil, 2 tbspns lemon juice, 2 tbspns balsamic vinegar, 1 tspn garlic powder, 1 tspn salt, 1/2 tspn pepper, 1/2 tspn each of dried marjoram, thyme, rosemary and oregano. (per lizzy217's recipe from this site) Followed the recipe for the tzatziki sauce as written; it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Lovely! I used this recipe for the chicken marinade and the toppings, but I used my own Tzatziki sauce recipe (from a friend who's Greek). This sauce recipe looks quite similar, so I would definitely give it a whirl next time. I loved the idea to use chicken to enjoy gyros. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kritcooks
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Super easy, idiot proof recipe! I used a little more oregano than it called for and it was great! I also used about a pound of chicken tenders instead of chicken breasts and cooked them on my George Forman grill - came out PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kritcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Oh my goodness, this is delish!! I didn't have enough yogurt, so I made up the difference with the sour cream (3/4 cup yogurt and 1/2 cup sour cream) and it was just fine. I added a little extra dill and Greek seasoning to our taste. It was amazing. It tasted just like our local restaurant's souvlaki pita, if not better. This recipe will definitely be a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
We really enjoyed this recipe. I used fat free balsamic vinaigrette from Trader Joes in the marinade. I may make just the chicken sometime because I thought it was very flavorful on its own. I used low fat sour cream and fat free yogurt in the tzatziki sauce. I used fresh dill from my garden. I may have put too much in because it was very strong. The sauce still tasted very good, though. I don't like cucumbers, but for some reason I like tzatziki sauce. I didn't use the olives or pepperoncini, but I don't think they were missed. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by annekj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
yum! I used balsamic vinegar and oil as substitute. I peeled the cucumber, and stuck it in the blender, and just squeezed the water from them. (didn't salt them) and I didn't used the greek seasoning, as I didn't have any. I also precut the chicken, before marinating, and broiled it. Everything was great and everyone ate it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUJayhawksfan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Chanute, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This was really easy and super good. I mixed boneless thighs and breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Yummy! I used bl/sl thighs and added 1 tbsp of minced garlic to the marinade. I used store bought tzatziki sauce and used lettuce and tomatoes for the toppings. A hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States