Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I followed the directions almost exactly, and even though at first it looked like there were a ton of ingredients, I had most of them on hand and it was very easy to prepare. The only change I made was to use a combo of dried oregano, basil, and parsley instead of the Greek seasoning (they didn't have any at the store). I marinated the chicken for 8 hours, but I the flavor of the marinade did not really come though on the grill, so next time I think I'll cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces and bake it in the marinade to get it juicier and more flavorful. The Tzatziki sauce was very good in flavor but a bit too thick for my preference (probably because I used nonfat plain Greek yogurt) so I thinned it with a couple of splashes of milk. Excellent meal, served along with some baked fries, and I liked it so much I'm thinking about serving it for my next party (but with the chicken baked in the marinade!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is spot on for restaurant souvlaki!Followed the recipe to the letter, however I did add a little extra Greek seasoning about 2 T. DELICIOUS!!!!!!Thanks so much I have had this in several places from Oklahoma to New York!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKIPA2B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
My husband and I had gyros in Prague last summer and the sauce tastes almost identical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
I made the tzatziki sauce to accompany another Greek chicken recipe. I strained the yogurt, and used 1 teasp. dried dill. My son and I thought it was a little sour (might leave out the sour cream next time) but my husband loved it and declared the meal "the best you've ever cooked!" He's glad there were leftovers to use as vegetable dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Was ok!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lkane47

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
wonderful!!!! I made these tonight as my pregnant daughter was craving gyros. Followed recipe exactly. Even my mother in law who is a fabulous cook, asked for the recipe! Definitley will make regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I was helping out my son and daughter-in-law who needed some pre-prepared, quick and easy-to-warm hearty dishes for a weekend of Lacrosse with their daughter. This turned out great - they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was delicious! The sauce was so good. I added a bit more greek seasoning, but that is the only change I made. I would like to find a recipe for making my own pita bread. Its hard to find a good soft pita at my local grocer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Thought this was really nice and flavorful. Both the Souvlaki marinade and the Tzatziki sauce. I spread the inside of the pita pockets with plain hummus and put Tabbouleh salad in the bottom, then sliced up the chicken and placed on top of the tabbouleh, finished with a dab of the Tzatziki sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This is now a family favorite! I always make it when company come and it gets rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 347) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States