Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Just writing about this recipe is making me hungry again! Both the chicken and the Tzatziki sauce turned out amazing. Followed this recipe to a T, served it with chopped cucumbers along with the other veges. Served with Nann instead of pita bread(Indian Naan II from this site). Naan doesn't break like Pita bread does. I also mixed up some balsamic vinagarette (Mama's balsamic vinegarette from this site) for the chicken marinade. I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jog Dish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Excellent. I used a separate recipe that I prefer for the tzatziki sauce, and I didn't have any pita bread so I substituted tortillas instead. I also cut the chicken into strips before marinading and grilled them on skewers. It was delicious. Thanks to Chris J for upping this awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
I love gyros especially with the cucumber sauce! I used a different recipe for the cucumber sauce, becuase I knew I wanted to drain my yogurt and didn't want sour cream in it. The chicken was a little bland and needed the cucumber sauce to make it good, but in my opinion the cucumber sauce is the best part of gyros!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
delicious! I have made this over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Though I did not use the marinade for this recipe (due to time constraints) I did follow the rest of it. This having been the first time I have ever attempted to make Gyros. It was delicious! A winner with the whole family & I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This marinade was amazing! Served the chicken gyro's with grilled naan bread and it was so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaseyLM101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very tasty and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
The marinade was really good! I used leftover steak, sliced thin and sauteed in the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Very taste..every bit of chicken I had was moiste and full of flavor. Loved the tzatziki sauce, I've tried many recipes & this was by far the best. Thank
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was delicious! I marinated the chicken overnight and the flavors really came through. For those that said it was too sweet, the recipe calls for balsamic VINAIGRETTE not balsamic vinegar. My boyfriend loved the chicken! The tzatziki sauce was delicous as well! I also made this the night before so that the flavors had time to meld. Here's a tip: instead of salting the cucs to dry them out, I placed them in a sieve over a bowl with a bowl on top of them. I put a can of soup in the bowl to give it some pressure, and all the liquid seeped out the bottom. By the morning I had less moist cucs, and then combined them with the sauce I made the night before. I used non fat Greek yogurt (thicker and creamier) and dried dill (just 1 tsp). I also used reduced fat feta cheese, which isn't bad. The only problem I had (no fault of the recipe) was that the pitas ripped. Anyone have a good solution for that? This was such a welcome change from the usual turkey sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States