Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
We thought this was very good. I didn't make the tzatziki sauce because life got in the way, so I served it with more of the bottled balsamic vinaigrette, which I thought it really needed. A lot of the sour-in-your-face-flavor is lost when you grill it, so I might actually try baking or pan-cooking my meat next time (cut into chunks of course) so as to keep more "sauce" glazed onto the meat. I oiled my pitas with olive oil before grilling them, and while they did hold up better this way than without grilling them, for some reason the bread also got sort of tough. That might be just due to a poor brand of pitas, though, so I'm not counting that against the recipe. Thanks for the recipe, I'm sure we'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This is great! This is my second time making it and the only thing I changed was to use nonfat plain yogurt and lite sour cream. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was really good, I followed the recipe almost exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This was absolutely delicious! I've been using this sight for years and this is the first time that I have rated a recipe. I prepared the chicken just as instructed and it was soooooo good! I used a different recipe for my tzatziki sauce, but the chicken was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tia Banks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These were so good! The only thing I changed was regular apple cider vinegar because I didn't have rice vinegar. Better than the state fair!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliandPie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevenson, Washington, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
5 star. I made homemade pitas (easy to make!) with Peppy's Pita Bread recipe on allrecipes. I made my own balsalmic vinaigrette and my own Greek seasoning. I used 3 full boneless skinless chicken breasts and had more than enough for 4 pitas. I cut them in thirds to make them grill faster (8 mins each side). I also used regular black pitted olives (way less expensive). Next time I will make half the amount of sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
My husband and daughter loved this. There was only one problem. No leftovers. Darn! I'll have to double the chicken in the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Haney

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Germantown, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Great and coming from a greek family we changed just a few things I S & P garlic powder the tomatoes and onions a few hour in advance. We also add a pinch of cayanee pepper to the sauce use real greek yougart with lemon juice, olive oil, dill, and garlic S & P and drained cucumber. Seems like alot of changes but it's not was so so so good. I thought I was in GREECE OOPA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiffneyrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Fantastic! Didn't change a thing and my husband & I loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somerset, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hillsborough, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
FANTASTIC!!! A little time consuming to make, but 100+++% worth the effort involved. If you prep these in stages, they're much more manageable to make. I quickly threw together my marinade / tzatziki sauce early this afternoon, so all I had to do at dinnertime was grill my chicken (on my indoor reversible grill). To all of you wanting to give this a try, I have a few tips to share. First, you MUST use balsamic vinaigrette (found in the salad dressings aisle of your grocer), DO NOT use straight-up balsamic vinegar! Vinaigrette contains spices & EVOO to help tame the tartness of the vinegar. Second, Greek yogurt is a FAR superior choice for this cucumber sauce. Tzatziki should be thick, not thin or watery. Unless you strain your yogurt, you will end up w/ runny sauce. Greek yogurt has already been strained. Yes, it's more expensive, but it's also more convenient. Finally, to ensure your cucumbers properly "sweat," toss them w/ salt (salt draws OUT water), & then do what reviewer MOLLE888 did - place in a colander / sieve set over a bowl w/ another bowl on top. Put a heavy can in the bowl to add some pressure & watch the liquid seep to the bottom! You will have PERFECT tzatziki every time (promise!). Served w/ red onion, tomatoes & iceberg lettuce (no pepperoncini or olives for us), these are a spot on copycat of our favorite local chain's Athenian chicken pitas! Seasoned curly fries completed our meal. Thanks for sharing, Chris! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States