Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Super super good!!!! A little too much oregano in the marinade. I made a couple small changes. I broiled the chicken as some other reviewers did. I didnt have any greek seasoning for the tzatziki but there is a recipe for it on this site and I used everything in that recipe except the mint, thyme and majoram. It came out delicious!! I have been craving gyros from a little place down in Brandon, FL called Romano's. This is not Romano's gyros, but it definitely satisfied my craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
YUM!! The Tzatziki was perfect and I have been looking for a "just right" recipe for Tzatziki sauce. The sauce was the star here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzysMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Debary, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
So simple and delish! I used baby (seedless) cucumbers and chopped them instead of shredding. I also doubled the amount of cucumbers and garlic for the sauce. I used Greek Yogurt and had no problem with the sauce being watery. I followed the rest of the recipe to a tee. This completely satisfied my craving for gyros. THANK YOU FOR POSTING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This is so good! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elzorro

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Delicious !! I sliced the chicken and marinated as per recipe but omitted the lemon juice and added greek seasonings. Made a simple tzatziki sause with diced cucumber, greek yogert, lemon juice, greek seasonins, garlic, salt & olive oil. I also made a greek salad & served it on white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥PaliLuv♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
This was SO good! I wanted the chicken to be well marinated, so I cut it up into one inch pieces, marinated the pieces for about three hours, then skewered them and grilled the skewers. I made the sauce two hours in advance so the flavors would have some time to meld and it was perfect! (Note: I couldn’t find fresh dill so I substituted 1 tsp dried dill in place of the fresh). My husband couldn’t get enough of it! Thanks for the great recipe! Well definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Excellent! Excellent! Excellent! I didn't have Greek seasoning, so I used what others suggested; a mixture of garlic and onion powders, oregano and basil. Other than that, made recipe as stated. So good! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue eyed CC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
The tzatziki sauce was salty. I'd tone that down. Other then that, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Fantastic! Used garlic flat bread, could not find thick pita. Excellent! Used about an 8 inch piece of foil to wrap up gyro (check photos),works extremely well. Place all items in small bowls and let everyone make it to their liking. Rave reviews. Left over cucumber Tzatziki sauce is great for a light salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This recipe is the closest to authentic greek food I've been able to make at home. It tastes soooo good! Rave reviews from everyone who tries it, especially the tzatziki sauce. The chicken has great flavor and the sauce tastes better than our local greek place's version! I've substituted dried dill in a pinch and it works well. Also, I make my own balsamic vinaigrette and it is a good sub too. I've made this recipe five or six times now, paired with Peppy's Pita bread (from allrecipes) and a green salad with feta croutons, radishes, zucchini and a lemon vinaigrette. YUM! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States