Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
This recipe is the closest to authentic greek food I've been able to make at home. It tastes soooo good! Rave reviews from everyone who tries it, especially the tzatziki sauce. The chicken has great flavor and the sauce tastes better than our local greek place's version! I've substituted dried dill in a pinch and it works well. Also, I make my own balsamic vinaigrette and it is a good sub too. I've made this recipe five or six times now, paired with Peppy's Pita bread (from allrecipes) and a green salad with feta croutons, radishes, zucchini and a lemon vinaigrette. YUM! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
We haven't got a grill at the moment so I used my cast iron skillet with some olive oil. I also boneless skinless chicken thighs as dark meat is a bit more forgiving before it dries out. 8 minutes on a side worked perfectly! Also, I couldn't find any 'Greek Seasoning' at my local store so I subbed in a mix of garlic powder, cumin, basil, oregano and onion powder in trace amounts. Everything came out WONDERFULLY. Thanks for the recipe, Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
This recipe was just what I needed! Looked great and tasted even better! I will be making this again and again! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brooks
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
The best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I skipped the tzatziki and pita due to dietary restrictions. I marinated sliced tomatoes and very thinly sliced red onion in the marinade overnight (I made the balsamic vinaigrette using a recipe from another site, just omitted the brown sugar). The next day, I removed them from the marinade and added the chicken. I left the chicken in for a little over an hour while I was cooking the tomatoes and onions. Since the marinade is pretty acidic, I wouldn't recommend marinating too long - an hour to an hour and a half is probably enough. It turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
this recipe is amazing my bf and all his friends loved it....they even said it was better then Salem's gyros!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CieraDesiree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Excellent recipe! My husband loves this every time I made it. The Tzatziki sauce is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was amazing! The chicken is moist and flavorful and the sauce is a perfect match for it. I would recommend this recipe to anyone who loves Greek food. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I was so impressed with this recipe I made it twice this week!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States