Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
This turned out fantastic!!! Loved it. I only had balsamic vinegar on hand so I just added evoo to dilute it. Also, I went light on the olives and pepperoncini knowing there is alot of vinegar in both of them. I coul'd find any pita bread I liked so I used naan bread which knocked it out of the park for me yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gingersnap6000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
The marinade is pretty good, but it didn't taste particularly "Greek" to us. Also, the Tzatziki sauce isn't quite right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I have made this twice and it was a huge it at our house. Don't be scared by all the ingredients. Cooking process is easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Absolutely amazing. I wanted something that tasted like the souvlaki at "Tom's Home of the Souvlaki" Greek diner in Buffalo, NY. It was spot on! The only thing I really did different was that we accidentally bought fat free yogurt, but I had no problems with the Tzatziki running. I wrung dry the cukes in a cotton towel before salting them. I also skipped the pepperocinis, not because I don't like them, but that's just not how Tom's did it! WONDERFUL recipe - thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Very tasty! will make agian!! I would not marinate it for more then an hour tho. I marinated for 3 hours and the lemon/vinegar started to cook my chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by culinarychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jordan, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
we LOVED this dish!!...it was my first attempt at greek food and the kids loved it....i couldn't find greek seasoning, so i used the recipe on here and made my own.....we used flatbread instead of pita and added feta cheese....but this dish is perfect either way!.....will definitely make this one again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I can't tell you how many times I have made this recipe and everyone in my family (even the kiddos) love it!! Sometimes I do not have sour cream for the cucumber sauce so I'll just use plain yogurt and it still taste great. I do not make any adjustments on the marinade. And for the toppings I use what I have on hand. Great recipe!! Thanks for sharing it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotmamathatcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Knox, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Very good, the sauce was a bit strong but all around very tasty, I'll for sure be making this again on a more regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Very tasty. Marinated chicken breast strips for about 6 hours - gave them good flavor. Cucumber sauce very good as well. Tastes a bit different than what you get at a restaurant, but still yummy and i'm sure healthier too. :) Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Matushak Plach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
So flavorful! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinsfan0309
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States