Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
OMG, this was so good! I cooked it inside in my grill pan. I have to admit that I bought the Tzatziki sauce already made because it was one of my crazy days. I brushed the pita bread with olive oil and threw on the grill pan and the kids and hubby ate it all up before I even got any! This one is definitely a keeper! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This was excellent!!! The chicken was easy to make and it went extremely well inside of a pita with the tzatziki sauce and veggies. The tzatziki was easy to make as well. I didn't know what greek seasoning was, nor could I find it, so I threw in basil, oregano, onion powder, and garlic powder. Paired this with the "Good For You Greek Salad", and this was a great dinner. All we needed was a rice dish to go with it, and this would had been a perfect dinner. But, this recipe is a keeper and I will DEFINITELY make it again. The author of this recipe, however, needs to edit the servings… This serves WAY more than 4 people, and the nutritional facts are SUPER high because of that. So, hopefully that will change because it makes it show how healthy this actually could be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randy Finger

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
love the tzatziki!! I substituted the vegetables for a fresh parsley/tomato/red onions/olive oil and greek seasoning mix. It was an altogether great recipe and I will definitely do it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
This was a delicious dinner for us tonight out on our deck. The prep. was easy and the taste was out of this world. The only tiny complaint I had was that by grilling the pitas they were a bit too tough for me. But I am really looking forward to the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McCrearyacres

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronson, Kansas, USA
Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
Terrific recipe! I have played with many marinades for the chicken, and this one is the easiest by far! We loved it! I like to top the souvlaki with a little more than just the Tzatziki Sauce. I usually chop up red and green peppers and red onions nice and small - it adds so veggies and some flavor to the pita. We then usually make a nice Greek Salad with the romaine, tomatoes, peppers, feta, kalamata olives, and grape leaves. Delish! Thank you for such a simple and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
Absolutely delicious! It's one of my family's favorite meals now. Especially good if you use nice, soft Naan bread. Thanks Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Vinaigrette, NOT Vinegar. This recipe is a family favorite. We like to serve it with homemade pita bread and a side of hummus. Those reviews that say the marinade is too sour probably used balsamic vinegar, rather than a vinaigrette salad dressing. Vinaigrette is 3 parts oil, 1 part vinegar shaken together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
We thought this was very good. I didn't make the tzatziki sauce because life got in the way, so I served it with more of the bottled balsamic vinaigrette, which I thought it really needed. A lot of the sour-in-your-face-flavor is lost when you grill it, so I might actually try baking or pan-cooking my meat next time (cut into chunks of course) so as to keep more "sauce" glazed onto the meat. I oiled my pitas with olive oil before grilling them, and while they did hold up better this way than without grilling them, for some reason the bread also got sort of tough. That might be just due to a poor brand of pitas, though, so I'm not counting that against the recipe. Thanks for the recipe, I'm sure we'll have this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
This is great! This is my second time making it and the only thing I changed was to use nonfat plain yogurt and lite sour cream. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
This was really good, I followed the recipe almost exactly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States