Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Cant get enough of that sauce. Perfect as is. Triple the yogurt dill sauce. Trust me it doesnt get old dipping veggies or pitas in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Very much enjoyed this easy recipe. Next time I would marinate the chicken longer for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
Ripped In Half! FAMILY went NUTS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maurice B.
Home Town: North Bergen, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Made this for the family tonigth, and they loved it! They said, it was better than the local gyro joint, (Which is mighty good!) The only think I did to change the recipe was adding a 1/4c of sugar to the tatziki. We like our a little sweet, and tangy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeenCookingLovey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I'm not sure how to rate this dish and I'll tell you why. I printed the recipe to make it and it printed weird so I marinated the chicken in the marinade with the garlic, dill, and Greek seasoning added. I have to say it was fantastic and will make it again with my goof up. Everyone loved it. I served it with Yia Yia's Tzatziki from this site because I can't cheat on that recipe. A good long marinade is the key- I marinated for 8 hours. Thanks for sharing- great flavor in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Excellent. Everything comes across in harmony without needing to mess with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Granite Falls, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
This was superb! I didn't use the pita step, but followed the grilled chicken and Tzatziki steps to the letter. I could not have been more pleased with the way it turned out -- tender, moist, and delicious. The Tzatziki can be made well ahead of time and the chicken marinated overnight, which leaves only the grilling for the last minute. This is going to become one of my "go to" recipes for guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
Perfect recipe, I wouldn't change a thing. At the moment, it's my favorite recipe on this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Love this tzadziki (sp?). Being a NYer living in the South, it's kinda hard to find Greek food but a few weeks ago I had the most amazing chicken gyro and was determined to learn to recreate it at home. This is it! The chicken marinade is fine, but the cucumber sauce is the real winner, I used red wine vinegar and dried dill, still came out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
This is really good. The marinade for the chicken is tasty, though could be a bit saltier (but keep in mind that the tzatziki and the feta are both salty too, so use a sparing hand). The tzatziki sauce recipe is nuanced and delicious - since I didn't have Greek seasoning on hand, I found a great recipe (using LOTS of different spices) at http://www.food.com/recipe/greek-seasoning-mix-61579. The sauce portion as written is quite large, and could probably feed 6-8 people, so the two of us had a lot of leftovers at the end. We ended up doing a variation using ground beef seasoned with oregano, garlic powder, salt, and pepper instead of chicken - WOW! So good with a side of diced and salted cucumbers and tomatoes and the leftover yogurt sauce, served with white rice or in pita. Delicious recipe... plan to do tons of variations on this in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States