Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Very good and very easy! My whole family loved this. My picky 16yo even ate the leftovers on here own. I love the twang from the olives and pepperoncinis. you don't even have to put in the pita bread.. When I ate the leftovers for lunch I just put everything on top of the chicken and ate... very low carbs that way. I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Loved this recipe. Followed it to a T and it came it perfect. Super easy to make! My husband, my son and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avid_cook22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I added thin sliced onion, green pepper, and red pepper to chicken once it was cooked, then covered to soften - my family just prefers it this way. This recipe is AMAZING. Loved the Tzatziki sauce - was perfect. The seasoning/marinade for the chicken was incredible. The entire family loved this and it will be put into our rotation of meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazzinelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Oh my...most yummy stuff ever! Made it with Naan recipe from this site (per suggestion of another review) and Tzatziki sauce. The only reason I stopped eating was due to the fact that I had to leave some for my family. Even after reading the recipe and reviews, crazy me still used balsamic vinegar...sigh!...thankfully I caught my mistake and made another batch of chicken with the VINAIGRETTE dressing. The messed up vinegar chicken was barely touched, vinaigrette chicken was gone in a flash. It's just that good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moreland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made this for a bbq get together because we wanted to try something different and healthier than burgers and sausages. It was a hit!! I marinated it over night and bbq'd it when the guests arrived. everyone asked for the recipe. I think this is my new go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marzipan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The most delicious, real-tasting souvlaki marinade & tzatziki sauce I've had outside of a Greek festival. Definitely worthy of company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin De Looff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
needs more garlic, used 4 cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great sauce. Does take some prep time, so not a quick meal to throw together during the work week. My family loves this recipe and we make it several times throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I fixed this last night as written. My son, who is a chicken souvlaki connoisseur, couldn't lay off it! Dinner last night. And this morning I found a note from him saying he couldn't resist & had had it for a midnight snack. While the list of ingredients for the sauce seems long, it takes no time to whip it up. This is most definitely going into our regular dinner rotation. With winter upon us, we're going to grill a big batch of the chicken & have it ready to go in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This recipe is LEGIT! Turned out much better than expected...as good as any gyro I've had before. So I didn't have any Balsamic Vinagrette so I used the following for my marinade: 1/4 cup olive oil, 2 tbspns lemon juice, 2 tbspns balsamic vinegar, 1 tspn garlic powder, 1 tspn salt, 1/2 tspn pepper, 1/2 tspn each of dried marjoram, thyme, rosemary and oregano. (per lizzy217's recipe from this site) Followed the recipe for the tzatziki sauce as written; it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States