Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I was helping out my son and daughter-in-law who needed some pre-prepared, quick and easy-to-warm hearty dishes for a weekend of Lacrosse with their daughter. This turned out great - they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
This was delicious! The sauce was so good. I added a bit more greek seasoning, but that is the only change I made. I would like to find a recipe for making my own pita bread. Its hard to find a good soft pita at my local grocer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Thought this was really nice and flavorful. Both the Souvlaki marinade and the Tzatziki sauce. I spread the inside of the pita pockets with plain hummus and put Tabbouleh salad in the bottom, then sliced up the chicken and placed on top of the tabbouleh, finished with a dab of the Tzatziki sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PantryDreams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This is now a family favorite! I always make it when company come and it gets rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I wasn't crazy about the chicken, but the tzatziki sauce was amazing. I left out the rice vinegar, and I didn't miss it. Also, after making the sauce a few times, I cut some of the calories and fat by replacing the yogurt and sour cream with about 1 cup of nonfat greek yogurt and a 1/4 cup of plain yogurt. The flavor is pretty similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Great! In a hurry, used prepared Tzatziki sauce. Kids called them Greek tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teacup

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
Great recipe! I substituted Gorgonzola cheese for the Feta cheese because we are not big Feta fans. I also used freshly picked Dill from the yard. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margo C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is a great base from which to work. The chicken is tasty. I used my usual tzatziki sauce recipe (I had some leftover from the night before). Thanks for an easy summer meal! The only change I made to the marinade was to use fresh oregano since I have TONS. I think dried might actually have been more flavorful, even though I tripled the amount called for like usual when converting dried to fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
This was soooo good! I was craving our local Greek restaurant's chicken gyros and this definitely hit the spot. I was a little wary of the balsamic vinaigrette in the marinade, but it turned out fantastic. I did substitute Greek seasoning for the oregano in the marinade though. The tzatziki sauce is divine! And it gets better as the flavors mellow together so I would make it a few hours ahead next time. The grocery store was out of fresh dill so I used about 1 1/2 tsp dried dill, and could have used a little less. So so so good! Will definitely make again many times :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
Excellent chicken marinade, though I would have let is sit overnight instead of the hour recommended. The tzatziki sauce came out a little tart by itself, but it was not overwhelming when combined with the pita, chicken, and toppings. I used white wine vinegar instead of rice vinegar and 1 tspn dried dill instead of fresh. The whole family, including our picky 5 year old, enjoyed this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States