Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
The chicken marinade is awesome! Leftover chicken is great the next day just by itself or in a sandwich. Tzatziki sauce is pretty good to but it makes a lot. Next time I'll half the recipe for 4 servings. I didn't have rice vinegar, so I substituted it for a mix of 3 parts white vinegar and 1 part water. Cant even notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
unbelievable! This is the recipe I make time and time again. I serve it with the Mexican rice and coleslaw. It is delicious, I add extra lemon juice and lots of salt, I used straight balsamic vinegar. Will make it for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CannedHeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I couldn't grill that day and cooked it on the stove (sauteed). It was delicious. Can't wait to try grilling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Our family and friends loved this recipe. Chicken Souvlaky Gyro Style is another food I will not be eating out. Fantastic Recipe easy to make, the Tzatziki sauce was creamy just as good or better than the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This is outstanding! So packed with flavor! The chicken was so tender from the marinade. I cooked it on the Foreman grill. The Tzatziki sauce was spot on. I laid the pita bread over my electric burner to heat it up. My company raved over it. A regular in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dogodigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I just used this recipe for the tzatziki sauce. It tasted authentic and fabulous! I think it was the best part of my Greek-themed dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl in Canada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Photo by LashGal
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Used red wine vinegar instead of balsamic; I only used the marinade from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Excellent, very tasty! I just added more salt & pepper to the marinade & it was great. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I followed the directions almost exactly, and even though at first it looked like there were a ton of ingredients, I had most of them on hand and it was very easy to prepare. The only change I made was to use a combo of dried oregano, basil, and parsley instead of the Greek seasoning (they didn't have any at the store). I marinated the chicken for 8 hours, but I the flavor of the marinade did not really come though on the grill, so next time I think I'll cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces and bake it in the marinade to get it juicier and more flavorful. The Tzatziki sauce was very good in flavor but a bit too thick for my preference (probably because I used nonfat plain Greek yogurt) so I thinned it with a couple of splashes of milk. Excellent meal, served along with some baked fries, and I liked it so much I'm thinking about serving it for my next party (but with the chicken baked in the marinade!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States