Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
unbelievable! This is the recipe I make time and time again. I serve it with the Mexican rice and coleslaw. It is delicious, I add extra lemon juice and lots of salt, I used straight balsamic vinegar. Will make it for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CannedHeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I couldn't grill that day and cooked it on the stove (sauteed). It was delicious. Can't wait to try grilling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Our family and friends loved this recipe. Chicken Souvlaky Gyro Style is another food I will not be eating out. Fantastic Recipe easy to make, the Tzatziki sauce was creamy just as good or better than the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
This is outstanding! So packed with flavor! The chicken was so tender from the marinade. I cooked it on the Foreman grill. The Tzatziki sauce was spot on. I laid the pita bread over my electric burner to heat it up. My company raved over it. A regular in our rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dogodigger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I just used this recipe for the tzatziki sauce. It tasted authentic and fabulous! I think it was the best part of my Greek-themed dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl in Canada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Photo by LashGal
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Used red wine vinegar instead of balsamic; I only used the marinade from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LashGal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Excellent, very tasty! I just added more salt & pepper to the marinade & it was great. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I followed the directions almost exactly, and even though at first it looked like there were a ton of ingredients, I had most of them on hand and it was very easy to prepare. The only change I made was to use a combo of dried oregano, basil, and parsley instead of the Greek seasoning (they didn't have any at the store). I marinated the chicken for 8 hours, but I the flavor of the marinade did not really come though on the grill, so next time I think I'll cut the chicken into bite-sized pieces and bake it in the marinade to get it juicier and more flavorful. The Tzatziki sauce was very good in flavor but a bit too thick for my preference (probably because I used nonfat plain Greek yogurt) so I thinned it with a couple of splashes of milk. Excellent meal, served along with some baked fries, and I liked it so much I'm thinking about serving it for my next party (but with the chicken baked in the marinade!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VesHeill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This is spot on for restaurant souvlaki!Followed the recipe to the letter, however I did add a little extra Greek seasoning about 2 T. DELICIOUS!!!!!!Thanks so much I have had this in several places from Oklahoma to New York!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKIPA2B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
My husband and I had gyros in Prague last summer and the sauce tastes almost identical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States