Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The chicken was not as flavourful as I thought it would be on it's own. But it tasted good served in a pita with lots of tzaziki to give it some taste. I would save my expensive balsamic vinegar for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by idram
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
First time ever making a chicken souvlaki & tzatziki sauce recipe and it was FANTASTIC!! We generally only eat Greek food while in Northern Virginia and now we don't even have to do that - restaurant quality right in our own home. I thought for sure it would take several tries or several recipes before finding the perfect fit but not at all. I made minor changes: I do not like dill so I didn't use it. I also didn't use mint. However, I compensated for it by using a lot more of the Greek seasoning. I also did not have Rice Wine Vinegar, so after reading several other recipes for the Tzatziki sauce, I used Red Wine Vinegar. It was amazing sauce, absolutely amazing. I marinated the chicken in my homemade salad dressing (not balsamic but still a viniagrette using apple cider vinegar) and the chicken still rocked. I sauteed it in a non stick pan with all the marinade - oh and I marinated it for 24 hours. I served on Naan bread with a small salad of romaine (thinly sliced), red onions (thinly sliced) and tomatoes and we drizzled the Tzatziki on the top. Thank you so much for osting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
LOVE LOVE LOVE! this was so good, not to mention healthy. loved the cucumber sauce too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This recipe is awesome!!!It has an authentic Greek flavor...I even made homemade pita breads...but even store bought ones will do. My husband and I loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was amazing! The chicken marinated for almost 3 hours - so tender and juicy - and flavorful! Paired really well with the "buffet style" fixings - peppers, olives, cucumber, etc. I had store bought tzatziki sauce, but regardless, this is recipe was a keeper (even the 3 coworkers my hubby brought home were impressed!) Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sugar Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I made this as part of a Greek themed meal - and had another meat for pita construction. (I only used the chicken marinade part of this recipe - not anything else.) This was an absolute hit! My parties almost always include children. This recipe (for the marinade) was devoured by children and sophisticated palates alike! I did the same as reviewer Saveour631 - I used 2/3 cup balsamic and 1/3 olive oil instead of a bottled balsamic vinaigrette. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was my first taste of Greek food and I loved it. I can't eat wheat, so I didn't use the pitas. I made it into a lettuce wrap and it worked out wonderfully. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have the balsamic vinaigrette, so I substituted Red wine vinaigrette salad dressing, and chose to use pork instead of chicken. The meat was visibly moist as I was slicing through it. I made these gyros for some friends and they were a big hit. I didn't make the tzatziki with this recipe. In my opinion it strays too far from the authentic recipe (I'm Greek), but it might be worth a try as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This recipe is the real deal! We enjoy going eating Greek food a lot, but since we live in a small town it is hard to come by unless we drive an hour out of our way. The chicken is seasoned great and the tzatziki sauce tastes just like the one at Ali Baba's Gyros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
The BF and I loved this. He went back for extra helpings. Truly delish. I was worried about the amount of oregano in the marinade, but it was fine. Also, for those earlier reviews saying it's sour, are you sure you used balsamic vinagrette and NOT balsamic vinegar? Indeed, the meat was not sour nor was it overly oregano-ey. I paired it with the "greek style potatoes" also from this site. Delicious! Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States