Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
I made this as part of a Greek themed meal - and had another meat for pita construction. (I only used the chicken marinade part of this recipe - not anything else.) This was an absolute hit! My parties almost always include children. This recipe (for the marinade) was devoured by children and sophisticated palates alike! I did the same as reviewer Saveour631 - I used 2/3 cup balsamic and 1/3 olive oil instead of a bottled balsamic vinaigrette. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was my first taste of Greek food and I loved it. I can't eat wheat, so I didn't use the pitas. I made it into a lettuce wrap and it worked out wonderfully. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Delicious! I didn't have the balsamic vinaigrette, so I substituted Red wine vinaigrette salad dressing, and chose to use pork instead of chicken. The meat was visibly moist as I was slicing through it. I made these gyros for some friends and they were a big hit. I didn't make the tzatziki with this recipe. In my opinion it strays too far from the authentic recipe (I'm Greek), but it might be worth a try as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This recipe is the real deal! We enjoy going eating Greek food a lot, but since we live in a small town it is hard to come by unless we drive an hour out of our way. The chicken is seasoned great and the tzatziki sauce tastes just like the one at Ali Baba's Gyros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
The BF and I loved this. He went back for extra helpings. Truly delish. I was worried about the amount of oregano in the marinade, but it was fine. Also, for those earlier reviews saying it's sour, are you sure you used balsamic vinagrette and NOT balsamic vinegar? Indeed, the meat was not sour nor was it overly oregano-ey. I paired it with the "greek style potatoes" also from this site. Delicious! Thanks for a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Excellent recipe didn't change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
The chicken marinade is awesome! Leftover chicken is great the next day just by itself or in a sandwich. Tzatziki sauce is pretty good to but it makes a lot. Next time I'll half the recipe for 4 servings. I didn't have rice vinegar, so I substituted it for a mix of 3 parts white vinegar and 1 part water. Cant even notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thompson, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
unbelievable! This is the recipe I make time and time again. I serve it with the Mexican rice and coleslaw. It is delicious, I add extra lemon juice and lots of salt, I used straight balsamic vinegar. Will make it for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CannedHeat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
I couldn't grill that day and cooked it on the stove (sauteed). It was delicious. Can't wait to try grilling it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Our family and friends loved this recipe. Chicken Souvlaky Gyro Style is another food I will not be eating out. Fantastic Recipe easy to make, the Tzatziki sauce was creamy just as good or better than the restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lydia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States