Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Very tasty and easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
The marinade was really good! I used leftover steak, sliced thin and sauteed in the marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
Very taste..every bit of chicken I had was moiste and full of flavor. Loved the tzatziki sauce, I've tried many recipes & this was by far the best. Thank
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was delicious! I marinated the chicken overnight and the flavors really came through. For those that said it was too sweet, the recipe calls for balsamic VINAIGRETTE not balsamic vinegar. My boyfriend loved the chicken! The tzatziki sauce was delicous as well! I also made this the night before so that the flavors had time to meld. Here's a tip: instead of salting the cucs to dry them out, I placed them in a sieve over a bowl with a bowl on top of them. I put a can of soup in the bowl to give it some pressure, and all the liquid seeped out the bottom. By the morning I had less moist cucs, and then combined them with the sauce I made the night before. I used non fat Greek yogurt (thicker and creamier) and dried dill (just 1 tsp). I also used reduced fat feta cheese, which isn't bad. The only problem I had (no fault of the recipe) was that the pitas ripped. Anyone have a good solution for that? This was such a welcome change from the usual turkey sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Really great recipe! The marinade gave the chicken good flavor and the sauce was delicious. We had to use dried dill as our grocer didn't have any fresh. We also skipped the olives, pepperoncini and feta in the final product, but will include those next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I only made the chicken (I used a different tzatziki recipe). I was a little dubious that something so simple could turn out good, but in fact it was delicious. I added a couple cloves of garlic and an onion; I cooked it in a saucepan and included the marinade which I let cook down to a thick sauce/coating on the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stannius

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
made this with rachel ray greek salade recipe. Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
I have never reviewed a recipe and I had to review this one! Soooo good! I didn't have the money to spend on the dill or the rice vinegar (I just used white), I grilled the chicken on a Foreman grill, oh, and I didn't have Greek Seasoning. But this was STILL delicious! I definitely recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The chicken was not as flavourful as I thought it would be on it's own. But it tasted good served in a pita with lots of tzaziki to give it some taste. I would save my expensive balsamic vinegar for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by idram
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
First time ever making a chicken souvlaki & tzatziki sauce recipe and it was FANTASTIC!! We generally only eat Greek food while in Northern Virginia and now we don't even have to do that - restaurant quality right in our own home. I thought for sure it would take several tries or several recipes before finding the perfect fit but not at all. I made minor changes: I do not like dill so I didn't use it. I also didn't use mint. However, I compensated for it by using a lot more of the Greek seasoning. I also did not have Rice Wine Vinegar, so after reading several other recipes for the Tzatziki sauce, I used Red Wine Vinegar. It was amazing sauce, absolutely amazing. I marinated the chicken in my homemade salad dressing (not balsamic but still a viniagrette using apple cider vinegar) and the chicken still rocked. I sauteed it in a non stick pan with all the marinade - oh and I marinated it for 24 hours. I served on Naan bread with a small salad of romaine (thinly sliced), red onions (thinly sliced) and tomatoes and we drizzled the Tzatziki on the top. Thank you so much for osting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Souvlaki with Tzatziki Sauce

Grilled chicken kabobs with Greek-inspired flavors and cucumber yogurt sauce.

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States