Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
One of my favorite recipes Ive found on the web. Ive worked at a Greek restaurant and never thought I could make a dinner as good if not better then those chefs. I drained my yogurt 24 hours and cucumbers about 3 hours, which is overlooked here. Make the sauce as thick as possible. As always i tripled the garlic. The longer the sauce sits in the fridge the better this gets, its quite amazing. Made this for a get together and was asked for the recipe by quite a few of the guests. I recommend making and using a garlic paste for the sauce. Simply blend peeled garlic and just enough olive oil to create a paste. Very potent and blends well in sauces. I make enough to keep around, stays good for about 4 weeks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dennis Stevenson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Made this last night for my finicky family. They all LOVED it! The only down side was there were no leftovers to take to work, since they ate 3rd helpings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Was ok. Nothing great. Would try something different for the marinade, but not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Very good and very easy! My whole family loved this. My picky 16yo even ate the leftovers on here own. I love the twang from the olives and pepperoncinis. you don't even have to put in the pita bread.. When I ate the leftovers for lunch I just put everything on top of the chicken and ate... very low carbs that way. I will for sure make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Loved this recipe. Followed it to a T and it came it perfect. Super easy to make! My husband, my son and I really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avid_cook22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
I added thin sliced onion, green pepper, and red pepper to chicken once it was cooked, then covered to soften - my family just prefers it this way. This recipe is AMAZING. Loved the Tzatziki sauce - was perfect. The seasoning/marinade for the chicken was incredible. The entire family loved this and it will be put into our rotation of meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jazzinelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Oh my...most yummy stuff ever! Made it with Naan recipe from this site (per suggestion of another review) and Tzatziki sauce. The only reason I stopped eating was due to the fact that I had to leave some for my family. Even after reading the recipe and reviews, crazy me still used balsamic vinegar...sigh!...thankfully I caught my mistake and made another batch of chicken with the VINAIGRETTE dressing. The messed up vinegar chicken was barely touched, vinaigrette chicken was gone in a flash. It's just that good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moreland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made this for a bbq get together because we wanted to try something different and healthier than burgers and sausages. It was a hit!! I marinated it over night and bbq'd it when the guests arrived. everyone asked for the recipe. I think this is my new go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marzipan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The most delicious, real-tasting souvlaki marinade & tzatziki sauce I've had outside of a Greek festival. Definitely worthy of company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadyelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
needs more garlic, used 4 cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States