Chicken Souvlaki Gyro Style Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Oh my...most yummy stuff ever! Made it with Naan recipe from this site (per suggestion of another review) and Tzatziki sauce. The only reason I stopped eating was due to the fact that I had to leave some for my family. Even after reading the recipe and reviews, crazy me still used balsamic vinegar...sigh!...thankfully I caught my mistake and made another batch of chicken with the VINAIGRETTE dressing. The messed up vinegar chicken was barely touched, vinaigrette chicken was gone in a flash. It's just that good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moreland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I made this for a bbq get together because we wanted to try something different and healthier than burgers and sausages. It was a hit!! I marinated it over night and bbq'd it when the guests arrived. everyone asked for the recipe. I think this is my new go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marzipan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
The most delicious, real-tasting souvlaki marinade & tzatziki sauce I've had outside of a Greek festival. Definitely worthy of company!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kadyelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
needs more garlic, used 4 cloves
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Great sauce. Does take some prep time, so not a quick meal to throw together during the work week. My family loves this recipe and we make it several times throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I fixed this last night as written. My son, who is a chicken souvlaki connoisseur, couldn't lay off it! Dinner last night. And this morning I found a note from him saying he couldn't resist & had had it for a midnight snack. While the list of ingredients for the sauce seems long, it takes no time to whip it up. This is most definitely going into our regular dinner rotation. With winter upon us, we're going to grill a big batch of the chicken & have it ready to go in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
This recipe is LEGIT! Turned out much better than expected...as good as any gyro I've had before. So I didn't have any Balsamic Vinagrette so I used the following for my marinade: 1/4 cup olive oil, 2 tbspns lemon juice, 2 tbspns balsamic vinegar, 1 tspn garlic powder, 1 tspn salt, 1/2 tspn pepper, 1/2 tspn each of dried marjoram, thyme, rosemary and oregano. (per lizzy217's recipe from this site) Followed the recipe for the tzatziki sauce as written; it's really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
Lovely! I used this recipe for the chicken marinade and the toppings, but I used my own Tzatziki sauce recipe (from a friend who's Greek). This sauce recipe looks quite similar, so I would definitely give it a whirl next time. I loved the idea to use chicken to enjoy gyros. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kritcooks
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Super easy, idiot proof recipe! I used a little more oregano than it called for and it was great! I also used about a pound of chicken tenders instead of chicken breasts and cooked them on my George Forman grill - came out PERFECT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kritcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Oh my goodness, this is delish!! I didn't have enough yogurt, so I made up the difference with the sour cream (3/4 cup yogurt and 1/2 cup sour cream) and it was just fine. I added a little extra dill and Greek seasoning to our taste. It was amazing. It tasted just like our local restaurant's souvlaki pita, if not better. This recipe will definitely be a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

High Seas Chicken Souvlaki

See how to make simple, fresh chicken souvlaki.

Roast Sticky Chicken Rotisserie Style

This chicken is so easy to prepare, so incredibly delicious to eat.

Jenny’s Grilled Chicken Breasts

Watch how to make this recipe for top-rated grilled chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States