Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
My girl's are home sick today and i was looking for something simple and easy to try and get in their tummy's.This was great!I doubled the recipe.Added a bay leaf,1Tbls diced pimentos,1 small sweet onion,pepper & 1 celery stalk.Relaced water with low sodium chicken broth.I then added 2Tbls spoon's brown rice.Fallowed the recipe after that.Turned out great! Simple easy base recipe that can be altered to your personnal taste.Will make again.Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
You can't go wrong with this! I cooked the chicken at the bottom of the pot before adding the liquid. I used garlic, onions, celery, and carrots. At the end I added dumplings and let them cook through before serving. It was delicious and so much better than canned soup. My friend was sick and this soup was perfect for making her feel better. My husband and I finished off the rest before the day was through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendy Tang
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I was sick with a cold and really wanted homemade soup, no canned! This was quick and easy to make, warm and yummy. I stir fried my cubed chicken with some olive oil and salt for taste. I omitted the zucchini, and added a few chopped red potatoes and also added egg noodles, with salt and pepper to taste at the end. Next time I will probably add celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Tang
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I needed a recipe that didn't call for celery, which I'm out of. I already had thighs and legs cooking when I went looking for this recipe, so I used those, and the chicken broth (rather than the water and chicken base). My frozen zucchini was shredded, so I used that (easier to sneak in), and since my son's tummy was upset, I left out the garlic and added seasoned salt. My other son LOVED this as much as I did, and he ate 3 bowls of the stuff!! Thanks for a keeper recipe, this was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
Didnt really know what the fuss was all about, but it's a pretty good soup...I added a healthy amount of curry powder, green beans and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 28Mustang

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I really enjoyed making the the soup.It was delicous!I used spinach instead of zucchini. The above was written by my nine year old. We added some chopped onion, and substituted the spinach for the zucchini because she doesn't like it. It was very good, and so easy that she did it herself. Now she has one meal that she can make for the family, and she is searching for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
great simple recipe. I added some poultry seasoning and celery and onion. Good Stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
So quick and easy, and most of all very very yummy! I added a diced potato and used a whole chicken breast. And to my own bowl, I add some grated cheese. Yum :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Excellent dish! After reading the reviews, I added potatoes, onions and egg noodles. I will definitely make this again ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I doubled this recipe for dinner and used chicken bouillon in the water I used to boil the carrots and potatoes in (which I added to make it hardier). I cut up half a zuchini and sauteed it in a pan because I think it adds flavor. Our family had eaten roasted chicken the night before so I used the left over chicken from the bones in the soup. I also spooned all the juices from the dish in which I baked the chicken into a jar and stored it in the fridge. When the vegetables were nearly done and I was adding the chicken and sauteed zuchini, I also added the broth! Delicious. My husband and I devoured the soup with a whole fresh baguette and butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Espoo, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States