Chicken Soup with Adzuki Beans, Escarole, and Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I wasn't sure if I should review this recipe, because I had to make some substitutions based on what I had on hand, but I decided that my substitutions didn't change the overall flavor of the dish. I used boneless skinless chicken breast instead of thighs, brown jasmine rice instead of wild rice, part of a pattypan squash instead of the zucchini, and spinach instead of escarole. I had bought some adzuki beans from the bulk section of my grocery store because I thought they were beautiful beans, so then I had to find a recipe to use them in. The flavor of this is incredible! I thought for sure I would need to add salt, but the herbs combined with the slight saltiness of the broth made the flavor perfect. I researched the nutritional value of adzuki beans and they're amazingly good for you! I'll definitely buy more and make this again on multiple occasions. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
A very versatile and easy to follow recipe which yielded delicious results that all the family enjoyed. I omitted the escarole, which I did not have, and added some chopped mushrooms and yellow pepper. This meal is a great way of using up leftover vegetables from the fridge. The fact that it is a healthy, nutritious and low calorie meal is a bonus. I intend to make this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mahersbar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is a fabulous soup. I usually omit the zucchini because I never seem to have it on hand. The key elements to this soup are chicken stock, adzuki beans, sweet potato, escarole, and the spices. All other ingredients I've added or subbed, depending on what was in the fridge, and it's been delicious every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Very tasty. I had escarole and chicken that I needed to use out of the refrigerator so I came across this recipe. I am giving this 5 stars because the broth in the soup is a very good blend of flavors. I had to make a few minor substitutions because of what I had on hand. I kept to the orginal intent of the soup and was very pleased. I will use this recipe often. My tyme and rosemary were not ground. The next time I will use my spice grinder so that I am not eating little "sticks".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This soup is delicious!! I made it per recipe, and it made LOTS of soup! With just the two of us we polished it off in 3 days. I plan on making this often. A lot of chopping, but well worth it! (especially because when I cook my hubby cleans) ;) A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choppie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I made this recipe without the "escarole", because I could not get it where I live, however, the soup was absolutely fabulous without it. My family loved it, even my 4 and 6 year old children gobbled it up. My husband commented that the next time I make it, he would like more meat in it. I used 5 thighs instead of 4 to make make up for the Escarole and he still wanted more meat. None of this soup was thrown out. We ate all of it over 3 days. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This was a great healthy recipe! My 9 yr. old even enjoyed it. I changed these ingredients: 6 Chix, 1 onion only, 2 pressed cloves of garlic, omit sage & rosemary & escarole. Added a Garden Veg. spice about 1 tbsp. We will eat this again. Thx for the recipe- I was wondering what to do with my Adzuki beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Everyone in my familt loved this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I was skeptical when I didn't like the smell or the look of it cooking but wanted to try my adzuki beans. Wonderful combination, rich and hearty. I put the onions in but they got too mushy so I removed them before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
We all LOVED this one!! I used (dry) kidney beans in place of the adzuki...and I added them in toward the middle of cooking. Also, I used a box of Uncle Ben's wild rice which I cooked in the microwave then added toward the end of cooking. This was especially good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States