Chicken Soup with Adzuki Beans, Escarole, and Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I made this recipe without the "escarole", because I could not get it where I live, however, the soup was absolutely fabulous without it. My family loved it, even my 4 and 6 year old children gobbled it up. My husband commented that the next time I make it, he would like more meat in it. I used 5 thighs instead of 4 to make make up for the Escarole and he still wanted more meat. None of this soup was thrown out. We ate all of it over 3 days. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
this soup is very good! you can add whatever vegetables you want... aduki or adzuki beans are fantastic, a delicious way of adding more fibre to your diet, and they go so well with the sweet potato flavour! *warning* if you are not used to eating too much fibre, the adzuki beans may sneak up on you ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMIRKYSPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
We all LOVED this one!! I used (dry) kidney beans in place of the adzuki...and I added them in toward the middle of cooking. Also, I used a box of Uncle Ben's wild rice which I cooked in the microwave then added toward the end of cooking. This was especially good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is a fabulous soup. I usually omit the zucchini because I never seem to have it on hand. The key elements to this soup are chicken stock, adzuki beans, sweet potato, escarole, and the spices. All other ingredients I've added or subbed, depending on what was in the fridge, and it's been delicious every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My husband and I both enjoyed this healthy and delicious soup. Substitutions could easily be made for personal veggie preferences. I used fresh garlic and, perhaps because I used low sodium broth, I found that it needed some himalayan sea salt before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I wasn't sure if I should review this recipe, because I had to make some substitutions based on what I had on hand, but I decided that my substitutions didn't change the overall flavor of the dish. I used boneless skinless chicken breast instead of thighs, brown jasmine rice instead of wild rice, part of a pattypan squash instead of the zucchini, and spinach instead of escarole. I had bought some adzuki beans from the bulk section of my grocery store because I thought they were beautiful beans, so then I had to find a recipe to use them in. The flavor of this is incredible! I thought for sure I would need to add salt, but the herbs combined with the slight saltiness of the broth made the flavor perfect. I researched the nutritional value of adzuki beans and they're amazingly good for you! I'll definitely buy more and make this again on multiple occasions. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This soup is delicious!! I made it per recipe, and it made LOTS of soup! With just the two of us we polished it off in 3 days. I plan on making this often. A lot of chopping, but well worth it! (especially because when I cook my hubby cleans) ;) A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choppie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Nice change, from the normal veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I was skeptical when I didn't like the smell or the look of it cooking but wanted to try my adzuki beans. Wonderful combination, rich and hearty. I put the onions in but they got too mushy so I removed them before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Very tasty. The sweet potato tastes great with the squash and chicken. I don't like escarole so used a bag of fresh spinach instead. Didn't add beans either and it was still yummy. Also, I used bone-in thighs (more flavor) and boiled for just half an hour, then cut it up and added when suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States