Chicken Soup with Adzuki Beans, Escarole, and Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I agree about sauteeing the onions and garlic in oil first. Then adding the chicken. I made the beans separately since I didn't want the chicken to dry out. Overall, it was a pretty tasty, hearty dish. But certainly not something I would make for guests or expect to be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
We all LOVED this one!! I used (dry) kidney beans in place of the adzuki...and I added them in toward the middle of cooking. Also, I used a box of Uncle Ben's wild rice which I cooked in the microwave then added toward the end of cooking. This was especially good the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
Nice change, from the normal veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
I was skeptical when I didn't like the smell or the look of it cooking but wanted to try my adzuki beans. Wonderful combination, rich and hearty. I put the onions in but they got too mushy so I removed them before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mansfield, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
Everyone in my familt loved this soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I was really unimpressed by this recipe. It was perfectly ok, but nothing special. Granted I couldn't find the adzuki beans at my market, so maybe that's the secret ingredient....but I found the soup pretty bland all-in-all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Very tasty. The sweet potato tastes great with the squash and chicken. I don't like escarole so used a bag of fresh spinach instead. Didn't add beans either and it was still yummy. Also, I used bone-in thighs (more flavor) and boiled for just half an hour, then cut it up and added when suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FieldGreens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newcastle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This was a great healthy recipe! My 9 yr. old even enjoyed it. I changed these ingredients: 6 Chix, 1 onion only, 2 pressed cloves of garlic, omit sage & rosemary & escarole. Added a Garden Veg. spice about 1 tbsp. We will eat this again. Thx for the recipe- I was wondering what to do with my Adzuki beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
this soup is very good! you can add whatever vegetables you want... aduki or adzuki beans are fantastic, a delicious way of adding more fibre to your diet, and they go so well with the sweet potato flavour! *warning* if you are not used to eating too much fibre, the adzuki beans may sneak up on you ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMIRKYSPICE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2004
I made this recipe without the "escarole", because I could not get it where I live, however, the soup was absolutely fabulous without it. My family loved it, even my 4 and 6 year old children gobbled it up. My husband commented that the next time I make it, he would like more meat in it. I used 5 thighs instead of 4 to make make up for the Escarole and he still wanted more meat. None of this soup was thrown out. We ate all of it over 3 days. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States