Chicken Soup with Adzuki Beans, Escarole, and Sweet Potato Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This was so delicious! I couldn't get the escarole today so used our garden-grown Italian Lacinato Kale. And we didn't have wild rice so I used a mix of Forbidden rice and Volcano rice. We used fresh rosemary. We added 2 cups of chicken broth when we put the vegetables in. The flavors were amazing and one bowl filled us up. It's a very hearty dish and comes out almost stew-like. So yummy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Easy! Yummy! Nutritious! Did not have any Escarole. Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This is not a good recipe. Too much wild rice. Dry beans need to be cooked longer but I used rinsed canned beans. The combination of wild rice and beans reduced the broth to almost none existing and reduce the chicken flavor to also none existing. This soup lacks good flavor. I have too many excellent soup recipes and will not cook this soup again. Don't waste your time and money on this one. I don't understand how anyone could rate this recipe as excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
Very tasty. I had escarole and chicken that I needed to use out of the refrigerator so I came across this recipe. I am giving this 5 stars because the broth in the soup is a very good blend of flavors. I had to make a few minor substitutions because of what I had on hand. I kept to the orginal intent of the soup and was very pleased. I will use this recipe often. My tyme and rosemary were not ground. The next time I will use my spice grinder so that I am not eating little "sticks".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by normal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
A very versatile and easy to follow recipe which yielded delicious results that all the family enjoyed. I omitted the escarole, which I did not have, and added some chopped mushrooms and yellow pepper. This meal is a great way of using up leftover vegetables from the fridge. The fact that it is a healthy, nutritious and low calorie meal is a bonus. I intend to make this again in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mahersbar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My husband and I both enjoyed this healthy and delicious soup. Substitutions could easily be made for personal veggie preferences. I used fresh garlic and, perhaps because I used low sodium broth, I found that it needed some himalayan sea salt before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I wasn't sure if I should review this recipe, because I had to make some substitutions based on what I had on hand, but I decided that my substitutions didn't change the overall flavor of the dish. I used boneless skinless chicken breast instead of thighs, brown jasmine rice instead of wild rice, part of a pattypan squash instead of the zucchini, and spinach instead of escarole. I had bought some adzuki beans from the bulk section of my grocery store because I thought they were beautiful beans, so then I had to find a recipe to use them in. The flavor of this is incredible! I thought for sure I would need to add salt, but the herbs combined with the slight saltiness of the broth made the flavor perfect. I researched the nutritional value of adzuki beans and they're amazingly good for you! I'll definitely buy more and make this again on multiple occasions. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This soup is delicious!! I made it per recipe, and it made LOTS of soup! With just the two of us we polished it off in 3 days. I plan on making this often. A lot of chopping, but well worth it! (especially because when I cook my hubby cleans) ;) A new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choppie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clinton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This is a fabulous soup. I usually omit the zucchini because I never seem to have it on hand. The key elements to this soup are chicken stock, adzuki beans, sweet potato, escarole, and the spices. All other ingredients I've added or subbed, depending on what was in the fridge, and it's been delicious every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I just didn't like this. I liked the adzuki beans which I was a first-timer with, but I had to keep adding water and the rice didn't turn out right. And I didn't like the escarole in it but normally I like escarole. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Sweet Potato Black Bean Chili

See how to make roasted sweet potato chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States