Chicken Soup With Black Beans and Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
I used my own chicken stock, halved the cumin added sliced avocado. Also used one can beans and fresh corn off the cob. The lime and cilantro really make the dish even though I'm not a huge fan of cilantro. Guess I will have to reevaluate that. Great soup. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This recipe sounds really good; I love corn and black beans together. It's one of my favorite food combos. Too bad this recipe has too much sodium, but then, so do most soup/stew recipes. I love soups and stews, but not the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
This soup is amazing! I love it! I'm a big fan of cilantro. Trying to add more beans to my diet. Such a healthy combination of ingredients and so flavorful! I do add some cooked quinoa when I add the cilantro at the end to make it a bit heartier. Tastes even better reheated the following day. I've been making this about once a week for the past month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Loveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
We love this recipe. We always add cubed chicken and serve with tortilla chips, sour cream and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Great soup! When I make for my family, it's made as written. When I make it for myself, I use veggie broth and leave out the chicken. A really great soup either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie47803

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
This was really good, but I made quite a few changes: I used 1/2 the liquid, used canned corn instead, and added cooked chicken torn in bits. Skipped the cilantro & lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is awesome! The only change I made was to use Fire Roasted tomatoes because that is what I had. A definite do again recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Excellent! Only change was substituted green chiles for the jalapeno. My kids loved it...and it makes a huge batch, so plenty for the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2011
This is an easy & flavorful soup. I skipped the oil & celery in the Fast Chicken Soup Base and used less cumin, but followed the rest of the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I used lime juice instead and less ground cumin. My 2 year-old even ate it. Took no time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie
Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States