Chicken Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This was my first time ever making chicken soup from scratch, and although I had my doubts that it would really be *that* much better than soup from a can -- I was very pleasantly surprised. This soup was absolutely delicious, and the smell was heavenly (my daughter came home from school and asked "what smells so wonderful?"). I used egg noodles but followed the recipe pretty much as written. Note: it was pretty salty, but we like our soup that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This recipe is really great. It really tastes just like the one my Mom makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This was a very easy and delicious soup. I actually tweeked a little. I hate celery, so I left that out and added potatoes and peas. It was delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Wow - this really does taste just like what my mom used to make! I cooked the chicken for 2 hours at which point the meat was falling off the bones, so I stopped then. It took a lot longer than 30 minutes to get the fat to congeal (probably about 2 hrs) so the overall cooking time was about the same. I didn't add the second tsp of salt as the bouillon is already so salty. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Oh boy, for how sick we have been over here (eg: I just went out with the girls, and I'm still sober enough to be typing (HA!) :) This is a good, classic soup that hit the spot for all of us this week. Nice & easy on the tummy. I used fine egg noodles, but could have gone with the rice as well. Thanks for the comfort & good recipe Robbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I used this recipe for my first soup making experience. It wasn't real easy, but I was able to come out with a soup that everyone now wants me to make more of. I feel the recipe is a bit vague on some things, but overall it works very well, and tastes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Delicious! I didn't want a quick recipe for soup and this was perfect! I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JPBROWN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
This is the best chicken soup I've ever made & I've been cooking for 50+ years! I use one chicken but double everything else. I use orzo instead of rice, but I divide up the soup first, freeze some & don't add the orzo until we're ready to eat it. I always make this the day before we want to eat it - the flavors really "gel" overnight. I sprinkle mine with a little grated parm, my husband skips it. It's simmering now - smells delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
This is a great "get-well soup". I make this often and it disappears quickly. I always use Kluski noodles and add more carrots and peppercorn. It's the best chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I have made this receipe several times and it always comes out good. I usually add a little dill which gives it a nice taste. We make a meal out of it and I make Matzo Balls as well. Believe it or not Manichewitz makes the best matzo ball mix. They are light and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States