Chicken Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Wow - this really does taste just like what my mom used to make! I cooked the chicken for 2 hours at which point the meat was falling off the bones, so I stopped then. It took a lot longer than 30 minutes to get the fat to congeal (probably about 2 hrs) so the overall cooking time was about the same. I didn't add the second tsp of salt as the bouillon is already so salty. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2003
Oh boy, for how sick we have been over here (eg: I just went out with the girls, and I'm still sober enough to be typing (HA!) :) This is a good, classic soup that hit the spot for all of us this week. Nice & easy on the tummy. I used fine egg noodles, but could have gone with the rice as well. Thanks for the comfort & good recipe Robbie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Good but not great. And overly complicated. If you're making stock, why the bouillon? (Or vice versa.) 4 hours is *FOREVER* to simmer chicken. It'll be done in less than one. It adds salt twice (Thrice if you include the bouillon.) Always add salt *LAST* or it will make things tough (Even rice). You start with fresh parsley and switch to dry (???) when once is enough. You add celery twice when once will do. Still, it makes good soup. But simpler would be better. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wun Fungi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This was my first time ever making chicken soup from scratch, and although I had my doubts that it would really be *that* much better than soup from a can -- I was very pleasantly surprised. This soup was absolutely delicious, and the smell was heavenly (my daughter came home from school and asked "what smells so wonderful?"). I used egg noodles but followed the recipe pretty much as written. Note: it was pretty salty, but we like our soup that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
This super soup was a family pleaser! My kids really liked it - my husband too! Only changes - added 3 chopped garlic gloves, used canned carrots and peas because I was out of fresh! And omitted the salt at the end. Will make again very soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireGuysWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Aguanga, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
This was a very easy and delicious soup. I actually tweeked a little. I hate celery, so I left that out and added potatoes and peas. It was delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsSpice
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
This soup is really good. I usually make up a giant batch of broth with a rotisserie chicken and I don't measure the veggies. Recently I used leaks. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Super flavorful and super yummy. I would omit that last tsp of salt and maybe just salt to taste next time. I also just used chicken thighs, as I hate the thought of cutting up a chicken. And I cooked whole wheat egg noodles and added them when the soup was done. mmmmmm. supergreat soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Wow, this is the perfect chicken with rice recipe. I made exactly as written but did not have celery seed. Came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
So I know exactly what to do next time: Cook egg noodles in the pot, rinse, put away till you need them. In same soup pot,cook approx 8 chicken thighs (after removing skin) in water - bring to a boil, simmer for 25 minutes or so. Remove them, cool them, pick meat off. Put pot w/broth in fridge, wait for fat to rise to the top, then remove. Return pot to stove, add chopped carrots, celery and onions, bay leaf, celery seed, pepper, 3 bouillon cubes, marjoram, parsley, & a little bit of thyme. Bring this to a boil. Reduce heat and add chicken and noodles - let this simmer for a good 2 or 3 hours. Remove bay leaf and enjoy! Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States