Chicken Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Great soup. I had leftovers of roasted chicken and this recipe was perfect. Next time I will make it with noodles instead of rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Very tasty recipe. I used chicken breast instead of a whole chicken, which is most likely why I was missing a little flavor, but it was still tasty. My husband enjoyed it, it thought it was too much "stuff" and not enough broth, so next time I will make an additional pot of stock and freeze what I don't use. Thanks fro sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mld685

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
Good but not great. And overly complicated. If you're making stock, why the bouillon? (Or vice versa.) 4 hours is *FOREVER* to simmer chicken. It'll be done in less than one. It adds salt twice (Thrice if you include the bouillon.) Always add salt *LAST* or it will make things tough (Even rice). You start with fresh parsley and switch to dry (???) when once is enough. You add celery twice when once will do. Still, it makes good soup. But simpler would be better. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wun Fungi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Don't you just love comfort food... and this is the best. I would say that this recipe does not need any carbs (assuming you're cutting back). It stands on its own. As to the chicken... don't boil for 4 hours, just simmer for about 2. Then remove the meat from the bones, return the bones to the stock, and simmer for another hour. If you don't want to stick the stock in the frig, and then wait an hour or longer for the fat to separate... strain the hot liquid through a China Cap, and then use a fat separator to remove the grease. Oh... add more veggies. Try some peas and some white-button mushrooms, or whatever you like. I spooned the hot soup over some thinly sliced napa cabbage. Then I thinly sliced some white button mushrooms, and placed them on top before serving... EXCELLENT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sous Andy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This is a great chicken soup recipe. We substituded dried chives for the parsley and the minced onion. We like garlic and added three cloves of fresh garlic. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Very, very good. I only used bone-in chicken breast and did not cook as long. Now let's see if my 10 year old will eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANTHESLP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This is one of my favorite recipes to date from this website! I have made it so many times this winter that I've lost count because people have requested it again and again. I have made a few variations to the recipe; I added fresh garlic. Sometimes, I will use boneless chicken breasts and chicken broth as well as a stick of butter depending upon the amount of time that I have. I have also substituted egg noodles instead of the rice at times. Whichever way I've doone it, it doesn't matter! The results have been the same and people have raved over this soup. Thanks for an absolutely wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maysville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Tollesboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Turned out great for me. Followed the recipe most of the way, with a few changes. (1) Didn't add the salt. The 6 boullion cubes were salt enough. (2) Used a 3 lb package of bone-in chicken thighs. Only needed to cook them for 1 hour and 45 minutes, the meat was falling off the bone. Otherwise, followed as written. Best chicken soup I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
I have never made home made chicken soup before but after trying this recipe I will never eat it from a can again!! This was fantastic and so easy to make. Followed the recipe as is except substituted Aicni de Pepe shape pasta instead of rice. Gave some to my father in law who said it tasted even better then my mother in law's recipe...shhhh don't tell her!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
I Changed it up a bit...but over all it was still great! My husband and my three yr old loved it! thanks for sharing! will def make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States