Chicken Soup III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
This is JUST LIKE my Mom's chicken soup...from the preparation to the end product. The only thing my Mom added was barley & lentils. Since neither my husband nor I can have those 2 ingredients, it didn't matter. As for the comment about needing to make boullion cubes...back in the day, that's what they used...my only change was using the already prepared chicken STOCK (not broth), 2 packages each pkg contains 4 cups and 4 cups water. The rest was absolutely the same. We don't use chicken with skin, so skinless is fine, but you will still have to skim it since chicken is a fatty protein. For those of you who never tried Motzah Balls...Manischevitz makes a prepackaged mix...you just add water...stir it up and form the balls by hand.....after you strain your soup and add the new ingredients, wait for the soup to finish the final 30 mins cooking and then drop (gently) the formed balls into the soup. They only take 5 mins and your soup is done....DELISH!!! I LOVE ALLRECIPES!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Simplified this tremendously and came out great. I cooked the chicken in a slow cooker for 4 hours in 4 quarts of vegetable broth adding peppercorns and parsley. Since broths vary in the veggies they use, I made sure I used a brand with most of the ingredients called for in the recipe, in this case Chef's Cupboard brand. I followed the rest of the recipe as written except I omitted the bullion cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Israel G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
The family has been fighting off some colds, so we wanted to go for the real deal chicken soup. This was perfect! So simple, my 2 year old and 5 year old were able to help. Nice flavor without being too spicy. I love the noodles too! They don't get mushy like egg noodles can. We will be making this one again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
My hairdresser donated a kidney to his sister (and he's diabetic!) so on my first appointment when he came back, which also turned out to be his birthday, I brought him some of this soup. He LOVED it. He's raved about it every appointment since. He keeps reminding me his birthday is in October and he's expecting more. Like everyone with every recipe, I tweaked it a little and don't even measure anything any more, but I use about half water, half canned broth for extra flavor, use boneless skinless breasts to cut down on the fat, don't cook it as long, and go the egg noodle route. Well done Robbie--thank you from me and my hairdresser!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wondermom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This had a great flavor, but took FOREVER to make. I started it at 4:30 in the afternoon and I was still up at 12:30 in the morning finishing it off so I could go to bed. I only cooked the broth an hour and a half, too. The rice was completely lost in the soup. The flavor was excellent, but due to taking so long, I will hesitate to make this again. I live in Colorado, so I don't know if that made it take longer (water boils at a lower temperature here), but it was just too much time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This is by far the BEST chicken soup I've ever made! It was a little salty when it was finished so I had to add a little water. Next time I'll add salt last. Also, I didn't use a whole chicken, I used a ready made rotisserie chicken from my local grocery store and added that after the stock was done. This cut the cooking time more than half and it still tastes great! Overall, I would DEFINITELY recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Now this is how "true" chicken soup is made. In my way of thinking, the broth must be made with the whole chicken to achieve the full rich flavor of homemade chicken soup. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Great recipe. I would recommend that you double the carrots and use 3 quarts of water when making the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEPHPAP

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Weston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This was a great recipe to get me started and able to use ingredients I had on hand. I used a rotisserie chicken from my local grocery store deli which I believe cut back on the fat. I placed all ingredients in a crock pot except for rice and let them cook on high for 3 hours then reduced heat to low for 3 more hours. Strain liquid with cheesecloth and chill to allow fat to rise to the top. There really shouldn't be much fat to skim. Return liquid along with deboned chicken, mixed veggies, and cooked wild rice. I did not add the herbs and spices a second time as this recipe suggested. The soup turned out rich and flavorful. Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
I give this recipe a five star rating. I love homemade chicken soup. My wife and I are very busy at our careers and I sometime purchase a cooked chicken for dinner. After dinner, I remove the meat from the chicken and place the bones in a slow cooker with celery, carrots and onion. I slow cook it all day while I am at work. In the evening I add about two cups of additional stock and make my soup from that. Additional chopped carrots, and celery with the left over chicken makes the soup complete. I add the noodles cooked seperately so as not to absorb all the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make an amazing homemade chicken noodle soup.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States