Chicken Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Great soup! I had a cold and instead of downing a can of condensed chicken noodle soup, I thought I'd make some from scratch. I love spinach, so this was right up my alley and the tortellini was a nice twist as well! I made a few variations---limited the onions and celery just because I'm not a huge fan. I did use fresh spinach instead of frozen and it worked just fine. Instead of meat, I used a three cheese tortellini and omitted the egg noodles (too much pasta). Finally, I didn't go through the trouble of taking the chicken off the bone (thought it made the soup more "hearty" and it falls right off anyway) and I also added a couple teaspoons of butter. All in all---this was a fantastic recipe! I served it with garlic bread and it tasted event better for lunch the next day!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April's Reality

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very good. I didn't have the right noodles, so I used whole wheat rotini. Definately a keeper, my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sabbath Jackson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Great recipe. The only changes were to use fresh sauted spinach (because I had it), a bouillon substitute called "Better than Bouillon" (because I had it) and orzo pasta (because I forgot to get the egg noodles). My husband who is not a huge soup fan said "This is a keeper". Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstmate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meldrim, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Really good! We don't like green peppers so we left them out, but other than that I made it just as listed. Served with some warm sourdough bread and it was a hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ida, Michigan, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was SOOOO good! I couldn't try it with the tortellini (because I couldn't find it) but it was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Absolutely wonderful! It's great to have such a good flavorful soup that is so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Smyrna Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Maitland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Very good soup. Wife was sick and i swear this has healing powers,HEALING POWERS MAN!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Really good. But I left out the green bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I made this in a snap with only the addition of one hot chili pepper and a handful of cilantro. It is really a lovely soup and everyone enjoyed it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
excellent soup. I omitted the green pepper and spinach. I also used a cut up whole chicken. I served it with homemade bread and it was a full meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States