Chicken Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is basically the chicken soup I have been making for years and love. The vegetables and fresh herbs listed in the recipe are usually what is in supermarket "soup mix vegetables" packages here in the U.S. northeast. To reduce the fat I do use skin-on, bone-in split chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. There is still some fat under the skin necessary to hold the flavors. To keep the vegetables from becoming flavorless mush, I cut them bite-sized but don't add them until ~20 minutes before the soup is done and don't puree them. I add the herbs in the last few minutes. My experience is that the split breasts are done and tender after 40 minutes of simmering. So I start the breasts around 20 minutes before the vegetables in lightly salted boiling water w/ a couple of teaspoons of cider vinegar to draw some of the calcium and gelatin from the bones and skin into the broth which enriches it, then sprinkle in the black pepper. Personally while I love all the other vegetables in this recipe, especially the parsnip, I find turnip tends to overwhelm the other flavors so I don't use it. The turnip that comes in the soup vegetable package is delicious mashed into mashed potatoes, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
We thought this was soooooo good! However, I didn't not use a food processer and left my veggies cut up instead, it was really great soup. Thanks for the recipe. The 2nd time I made it I took advice from Marta and tried adding cream cheese. I found it totally changed the taste of the soup and not for the better. Keep the recipe as it is and you won't go wrong. My family and neighbors love this soup because its sooooooooo awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This is such a comforting, wholesome soup. Don't leave out thing. Very good flavor. It is also nice with a block of cream cheese added to richen it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
This was a very good soup. My bf had been craving chicken soup for a while. I think this hit the spot! I did add some homemade Amish egg noodles to make it more filling and it may not have to be on the stove for the full two hours, the chicken fell apart before I could get it out of the pot. I will make this again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie Adams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
The taste of some of the vegetables, i.e. parsnip, turnip, overpowered the chicken flavor. It certainly tasted "healthy". I will probably make this only when I'm really sick with the cold/flu. If you're looking for clear/light broth-based chicken soup, this isn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I make chicken soup at least every other week, but this is the first time I have ever used a whole chicken instead of breasts and the first time I have used turnips and leeks. I am now a whole chicken-in-soups convert, and the turnips and leeks made this seem really special. We will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My grandmother always made the best chicken soup. Whenever I made it, I couldn't quite get it right, it was always missing something...until I found this recipe. This is the best chicken soup!!! Thanks for posting it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I didn't have any leek on hand and completely forgot to put in the onion and I used carcasses from whole roasted chickens that I had stockpiled in the deep-freezer. It came out great. I had never used parsnips or turnips before and find I like them! This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I came down with a horrible flue a little while ago as did my girlfriend. This was the favourite recipe for chicken soup i found here and was a huge hit - nursed us both back to health - lasted about 3 days, only change i made was an extra leek - oh and i couldn't fid a bird over 3kg - but the 2.6kg on i found made it plenty meaty. Never tried the noodles etc - just good old crusty bread and it was fantastic - in fact about to make it again only 23 weeks later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This soup is so good and healthy! We have a large family and everyone loves it...even the grandchildren. I have put it over noodles and rice...both were wonderful. I actually liked it so much that I used the rest of the turnips out of my garden and made the veggie puree and froze it for winter soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gridley, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States