Chicken Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This soup is so good and healthy! We have a large family and everyone loves it...even the grandchildren. I have put it over noodles and rice...both were wonderful. I actually liked it so much that I used the rest of the turnips out of my garden and made the veggie puree and froze it for winter soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mumzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gridley, California, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was easy and very good. I went out on a limb and used a whole bunch of turnips! This was a great way to get them by (into?) my kids - they thought this was "regular" chicken soup. Balance the bitterness of your turnips with carrots and a teaspoon of sugar. I don't like dill in chicken soup so I skipped that. My kids also liked not having celery in there - it was there but they didn't know because everything except some carrots and the chicken had been pureed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
It is a good start but it seemed like it was missing something. I did add noodles but I still wanted more chunks. I think next time I will leave some carrots out from the puree. I also think chunks of tomato might be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
I didn't have any leek on hand and completely forgot to put in the onion and I used carcasses from whole roasted chickens that I had stockpiled in the deep-freezer. It came out great. I had never used parsnips or turnips before and find I like them! This is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mona Arrigo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Brodheadsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
We thought this was soooooo good! However, I didn't not use a food processer and left my veggies cut up instead, it was really great soup. Thanks for the recipe. The 2nd time I made it I took advice from Marta and tried adding cream cheese. I found it totally changed the taste of the soup and not for the better. Keep the recipe as it is and you won't go wrong. My family and neighbors love this soup because its sooooooooo awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
GREAT RECIPE BUT - Bland to taste. Add 1 tsp sugar, dash of cayenne adn 2 tbsp or more of curry powder and you have a great soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was the perfect soup for my cold! Smooth texture but nice and brothy. I used 3 pounds of chicken thighs instead of a whole chicken. Worked great, plenty of meat. Highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This is a time consuming recipe for sure. The chicken fell off the bone after an hour and a half, I ended up adding more dill to the finished soup and some frozen peas just to give the soup some more "body". I will definitely add cooked noodles for my kids and husband, it will make a hearty meal and best of all, the kids wont even know how many nutrient rich root veggies they just ate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
When I tated the soup after following the recipe it was only 3 stars. After a bit of enhancement it was 5 star. I added a couple of teaspoons of chicken base and added soup pasta. The broth was wonderful! I will use this recipe from now on and add soup base, pasta and chopped vegetables for more flavor and interest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This was an excellent combo of vegetables and the broth had superb favor. I was not able to blend the veggies since i don't have a blender or processor, but it still came out really delicious. Also didn't have dill on hand so i used thyme. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States