Chicken Soup I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This was amazing and the house smelled great as it was cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This is a delicious basic chicken soup with a rich-tasting, almost creamy base, although there is no cream or milk in it, only healthy ingredients that soothe your soul and warm your bones. I love the mix of vegetables that make up the flavor - complex yet delicate. It made quite a large amount and I froze portions in plastic containers so we always have some on hand. You can ad flavors such as cayenne pepper (my favorite) or garlic before serving to make variations. Great on its own or over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
The flavors in this soup are divine. We did this differently (partly by planning to, and partly by misreading the directions, me thinks...). Anyway, I cooked a whole chicken in water only (overnight when the night was short anyway). Then I pulled out the chicken to cool turning the slow cooker up onto high. After deboning the meat, I returned the bones to the crockpot with some vinegar, S&P to taste. By noon time, I pulled out the bones and put in the veggies on high to cook throughout the afternoon. When the veggies were tender, I didn't only process the veggies with my blender wand, I actually misread and 'trusted' the misreading, so I blended the chicken into the soup at the same time. The expressions on my family's faces were dubious, and they expected to be reaching for the means to make PBJ's (doesn't happen often, but when one of my experiments doesn't work out, that's the agreed upon default....), anyway, when we sat down to eat the soup with salad and nice bread rolls, they were astounded with how yummy and filling, and how down-right comfort-food this turned out to be. Sorry for misunderstanding... well, sort of, and thanks for sharing, Angchick, because this 'new' type of chicken soup really is comfort food, and I'm so excited that it's getting to be fall again, so I can make this again. just picked up turnips and parsnips at the store this week, and had to share! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This is basically the chicken soup I have been making for years and love. The vegetables and fresh herbs listed in the recipe are usually what is in supermarket "soup mix vegetables" packages here in the U.S. northeast. To reduce the fat I do use skin-on, bone-in split chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken. There is still some fat under the skin necessary to hold the flavors. To keep the vegetables from becoming flavorless mush, I cut them bite-sized but don't add them until ~20 minutes before the soup is done and don't puree them. I add the herbs in the last few minutes. My experience is that the split breasts are done and tender after 40 minutes of simmering. So I start the breasts around 20 minutes before the vegetables in lightly salted boiling water w/ a couple of teaspoons of cider vinegar to draw some of the calcium and gelatin from the bones and skin into the broth which enriches it, then sprinkle in the black pepper. Personally while I love all the other vegetables in this recipe, especially the parsnip, I find turnip tends to overwhelm the other flavors so I don't use it. The turnip that comes in the soup vegetable package is delicious mashed into mashed potatoes, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
My family loves this soup. Wheather I do it after a long night out or to warm the belly for a cold, its a really wonderful soup. One rated this soup and added cream cheese, so I tried it. (NEVER AGAIN). However, I tired it without the cream cheese and added mushrooms as well as chicken legs instead of breast (dark meat is less dry). Best soup ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
excellent soup! I threw everything into my slow cooker overnight and enjoyed it for lunch the next day. I added quite a bit of salt. I never had turnips before and was a little hesitant but it seriously adds to the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bird Simmonds

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
It's time for winter vegetables, and found this soup using parsnip, turnip, and carrots. I didn't have a whole chicken but did find turkey sausage in the freezer. I skipped the leek (didn't have any) added a can of chick peas, a half cup dry left-over Lentils, 2 Tb butter, and a teaspoon turmeric. Everything got a rough slice/chop. This smelled awesome while it was cooking. The broth was wonderful. The turnips gave a natural unexpected sweetness to the soup. Wonderful - thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dwieberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira Heights, New York, USA
Living In: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Great just the way it is. I did add about 1 tsp of Mrs Dash Garlic and Herb seasoning and a tsp of minced garlic. I didn't run all the veggies through the food processor only about half that way it was thicker and chunky. Good soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BARBARELA10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurens, Iowa, USA
Living In: Coweta, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
I make chicken soup at least every other week, but this is the first time I have ever used a whole chicken instead of breasts and the first time I have used turnips and leeks. I am now a whole chicken-in-soups convert, and the turnips and leeks made this seem really special. We will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My grandmother always made the best chicken soup. Whenever I made it, I couldn't quite get it right, it was always missing something...until I found this recipe. This is the best chicken soup!!! Thanks for posting it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Soup with Matzo Balls

For the Angel family, matzo ball soup means tradition.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States