Chicken Something Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
This is very good but I made some changes that I think make it much better than the recipe here. I used 11/2 cups rice and 3 cups chicken broth rather than the water. Used 1/2 the butter called for. I mixed the soup, seaoning pack of onion mushroom and rice together with 1 cup of the chicken broth then poured over chicken then adding the remaing 2c broth to top. Baked at 350. Due to being to watery I mixed 2 TBS cornstarch with a little broth and poured into casserole cooked another 10-15 min and it was perfect. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheeka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I modified the recipe after reading the reviews; I used pam to prepare the casserole dish, used frozen chicken breasts, mixed a package of onion soup mix with one can of mushroom soup and 1 cup brown rice and added 2 1/2 cups of water, then poured all of that over the chicken. It took 1 1/2 hours to cook and was really watery after the first hours so I took off the foil so that the liquid would evaporate. It turned out okay, but even though I didn't add any salt (only sprinkled a small amout of black pepper on at the end and added 1 Tbs. chopped fresh parsley it was really salty tasting at the end. It wasn't all that good or exciting in the end, I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
This is a great throw together meal. I didn't have white rice or the dry onion soup mix, so I used a wild rice with the seasoning package and still used the mushroom soup. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSMAC8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Saint Marys, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I also used 1 1/2 cups of rice and 3 cups of water and mixed it all in a bowl to dump over chicken. I left out the butter and just sprayed pan with Pam. Instead of the spices I just used Mrs. Dash. Use it sparingly though because mine ended up really spicey. My Husband loved it so much that Mr. 'I hate leftovers' wants it tomorrow night also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I had to bump this recipe up to 5 stars because it's very good yet super easy. Here are some minor changes I made, based on the other reviews: only used 3 pieces of chicken, which I cut in half (about 1.5 lbs chicken total)-- next time I will use about 2 lbs; did not add extra salt, but I did use about 4 turns of the pepper mill; used 98% fat-free soup; used about 2 Tbs. Country Crock in place of butter. I melted the butter, poured it in the dish and added the chicken. I mixed the remaining ingredients and poured them over the chicken and baked for about 1 hr. It was a little soupy at first, but the dish I used was too big. Once I mixed it all up it was perfect. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Definitely not one of my favorites... I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This was a great and easy recipes. I used chicken breast tenders and it turned out just as good, I think. Next time I will probably use chicken broth in place of the butter - a whole stick makes this horribly unhealthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pflugerville, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
This receipe is horrible. Lose the butter. The rice was too mushy. The chicken was not done. I had to cook it longer than what was called for. Overall, I would give it a half a star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
This dish was phenomenal. My family is still raving and we had it 2 weeks ago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristaGarress

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Yummy, thanks for sharing this recipe! I was in the mood for some comfort food and this did the job! I made a few tweaks: used 3 breasts (my Publix only sells in 3's) and cut them into bite-sized peices; browned them in the butter (i used a mixture of butter, olive oil & smart-balance) on the stovetop and added all of the other ingredients over a low flame to get it all mixed up; also added a little chopped onion, water chestnuts, canned 'shrooms, garlic powder, white wine and about 1/2 cup of sour cream -- oh, and about 4 tablespoons of grated parmesean sprinkled on top; poured it all into a 9x12 baking dish, well-doused with "Pam", spreaded it evenly (very important to get the rice distributed...i had a few "lumpy" spots) and covered tightly with foil; baked about 1 hr, 10 mins and let sit covered for another 10 mins. Served with steamed spinach and bread...yummy-yum. Thanks again for sharing Chicken Something! This is a keeper for those nights we need greasy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Oh-So-Good Chicken

This cheesy chicken and rice casserole stars salsa, sour cream, and mushrooms.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States