Chicken Slop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This recipe was so so. It lacks the extra ingredients of the spectacular Sour Cream Cheese Casserole from this site. I suggest skipping this and trying that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I find the texture needs some improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I've made this a couple of times (I always give new recipes at least 2 chances) about 2 years ago and haven't made it again since. I agree with others, it does look sloppy. It was the best the first time we had it. I also subbed 1 can of cream of chicken soup with cream of mushroom. The chicken is somewhat bland, although would be a good standby for those nights where you don't feel like cooking and want to feed your family "real" food. I might make it again with some of the alterations that others have suggested, but I still feel that it probably won't have changed my mind - it's just what the name says - chicken slop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I took "Chikee's" advice by using 1 can crm of chicken, 1 can crm of mushroom and seasoning the chicken first. Also, I added some chopped celery, and the last of my freshly sliced mushrooms. Added a little shredded cheddar cheese, used garlic & herb seasoned croutons, and served over hot rice. Honestly - slop is right: it looks less than appealing BUT taste isn't too bad (not amazing but not bad either) and I esspecially appreciate the little amt of time it takes to prepare and cook - PERFECT for those hectic nights when cooking is THE LAST thing you want to do. Will keep this in mind for those nights when I would rather poke my eyes out than cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
Wonderful!!! This was so easy to throw together and tasted very good. I too seasoned my chix with garlic powder and black pepper, and halved the recipe, therefore using two cans of soup. I used on cream of mushroom and one cream of chicken. Will definately make again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
this tasted good, but looked bad. my husband and son didn't want to try it. i changed one can of cream of chicken to cream of celery. i also added a little cheese and cut the chicken into large cubes. i would make it again, but not often. i didn't have a salty problem because i got low sodium soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Very good, but a little too salty. I wouldn't recommend using 3 cans of cream of chicken. Maybe cream of mushroom...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
First I made this recipe with cream of mushroom soup, and it was pretty good. Then I made it with cream of chicken soup, as directed, and I did not like it very much. It had too much chicken flavor, so I recommend the mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Very quick and easy, but I'd recommend using LIGHTLY seasoned croutons as the regular flavor makes the recipe quite salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This was very good and I did add garlic powder and black pepper to the chicken when I made it. I also used Cream of Mushroom instead and my whole family enjoyed it including my two year old. The sauce was very good with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States