Chicken Slop Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
This recipe was so so. It lacks the extra ingredients of the spectacular Sour Cream Cheese Casserole from this site. I suggest skipping this and trying that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2004
I find the texture needs some improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I've made this a couple of times (I always give new recipes at least 2 chances) about 2 years ago and haven't made it again since. I agree with others, it does look sloppy. It was the best the first time we had it. I also subbed 1 can of cream of chicken soup with cream of mushroom. The chicken is somewhat bland, although would be a good standby for those nights where you don't feel like cooking and want to feed your family "real" food. I might make it again with some of the alterations that others have suggested, but I still feel that it probably won't have changed my mind - it's just what the name says - chicken slop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHIOMOM1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2003
I took "Chikee's" advice by using 1 can crm of chicken, 1 can crm of mushroom and seasoning the chicken first. Also, I added some chopped celery, and the last of my freshly sliced mushrooms. Added a little shredded cheddar cheese, used garlic & herb seasoned croutons, and served over hot rice. Honestly - slop is right: it looks less than appealing BUT taste isn't too bad (not amazing but not bad either) and I esspecially appreciate the little amt of time it takes to prepare and cook - PERFECT for those hectic nights when cooking is THE LAST thing you want to do. Will keep this in mind for those nights when I would rather poke my eyes out than cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
Wonderful!!! This was so easy to throw together and tasted very good. I too seasoned my chix with garlic powder and black pepper, and halved the recipe, therefore using two cans of soup. I used on cream of mushroom and one cream of chicken. Will definately make again - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2003
this tasted good, but looked bad. my husband and son didn't want to try it. i changed one can of cream of chicken to cream of celery. i also added a little cheese and cut the chicken into large cubes. i would make it again, but not often. i didn't have a salty problem because i got low sodium soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Very good, but a little too salty. I wouldn't recommend using 3 cans of cream of chicken. Maybe cream of mushroom...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
First I made this recipe with cream of mushroom soup, and it was pretty good. Then I made it with cream of chicken soup, as directed, and I did not like it very much. It had too much chicken flavor, so I recommend the mushroom soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
Very quick and easy, but I'd recommend using LIGHTLY seasoned croutons as the regular flavor makes the recipe quite salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This was very good and I did add garlic powder and black pepper to the chicken when I made it. I also used Cream of Mushroom instead and my whole family enjoyed it including my two year old. The sauce was very good with white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Italian Chicken II

Discover a terrific shortcut to flavorful Italian-inspired baked chicken breasts.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Artichoke Chicken

Baked chicken with a cheesy, creamy sauce and artichoke hearts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States