Chicken Shwarma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
I recommend cooking the chicken with chopped onions and garlic. Add a few whole cloves, just remember not to eat them. Add some chilli powder if you want it a bit hotter. Once the chicken has cooked through add either cream or coconut milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
You can easily clarify butter by slowly melting it in a frying pan and skimming off the solids that float on top of the clarified butterfat, though to prevent my regular butter from scorching I merely added some olive oil and fried the chicken in that. Though this recipe has nothing to do with authentic shawarma, it is quite flavorful and excellent accompanied by some fried onions and roasted peppers and asparagus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
Very good and very easy to make. Like other reviewers I sauted an onion and green pepper with additional garam masala. Also, I didn't have clarified butter (I only had Country Crock and I wasn't sure how that would turn out clarified) so I used olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
Make sure you REALLY scrub your frying pan when you're done making this. I made curry flavored pancakes the next morning by accident.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
I really liked this recipe. I have just tried mid-eastern cuisine recently and I really like it. I found garam masala and ghee (clarified butter) at a small Indian/Pakistani grocery store. I did add a little garlic salt. Next time I will try adding bell peppers and onion. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
We like Indian food but I found the garam marsala made us all sneeze when the chicken was cooking. Also rather dry. I won't use the recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Shwarma is a middle eastern dish and this recipe though not traditional is very good. After the chicken is done saute sliced onion and green bell pepper in the clarified butter until onions change color to a light golden brown. Serve chicken with the sauted veggies rolled in warmed pita bread. Accompany this with some plain or spiced yogurt on the side and you have great meal. I went back and changed my ratings from 4 to 5 stars as this dish gets better everytime I make it. The last time I made it I served it with some hummus on the side and a green salad. Thanks for this easy yet outstanding recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I served this dish to my non-Indian friends, and they loved it. I loved it for its ease in preparing. I did put in a bit of tamarind paste, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2003
This recipes is fantastic! It's easy to make and tastes fabulous - a nice change from day-to-day chicken. I ran out of garam masala and substituted with mutton masala - it tasted even better. Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
This chicken is delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

A Good Easy Garlic Chicken

See how to make incredibly quick-and-easy garlic chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States