Chicken Shwarma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I thought this seasoned the chicken pretty well. I made naan bread today and wanted some flavored chicken to put on it. I had about 3/4 of a lb. of chicken, so I reduced the butter and seasoning to 2 Tblsp of butter and about 1 Tblsp of garam masala and it was plenty. I used a garam masala recipe from this site. With chopped dill pickles and garlic sauce it all went good together per other recipe suggestions. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Bibi
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Not being very familiar with Indian cooking, I had no idea how this would turn out. I was pleasantly surprised, though. The chicken has a wonderful flavor, this is a simple recipe, and you don't have a "naked" chicken when you are finished cooking! Frying with the clarified butter allowed the chicken to brown nicely without burning. I did add a little salt, sprinkled on at the end of cooking. I served this with basmati rice, creamed spinach and naan, and the family enjoyed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
Over all a very good basic recipe. Needs a little something more. I did the onions and such like most others but still needs more garlic and definitely a yogurt sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was the easiest to make. A unique flavor. Don't go light on the garam masala, use all that's called for! We fought over the pieces with the most spice. A dash of sea salt may be needed & that made my little kids all LOVE it! We added a couple more tablespoons of butter and let the chicken simmer while the rest of dinner finished cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
This was quite good and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
I hoped that my Middle-Eastern husband would like this one, but he didn't. He found it to be too sweet. I thought it was ok, but it's just not the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
This recipe was really good. I know it wasn't exactly traditional, but for someone just learning to cook, it was great. This time, I added homemade hummus. I think next time I'll add yogurt, onions, and maybe some peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I make this at least once a month, usually more. Pile it on flatbread with tzatziki sauce and hummus and serve with greek salad. YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This tasted great for such a simple recipe. I was in the mood for Indian food, but didn't want to spend a lot of time cooking, and this was a great alternative!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Another good idea is going to Glatt (kosher) Markets and buying Shwarma powder. Chicken breast with olive oil and Shwarma powder are good mix when making Middle Eastern food taste authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States