Chicken Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I used others' suggestions and sauteed my chicken in red wine to add flavor. Then, I mixed all of the veggies with Cream of Mushroom soup and topped with mashed potatoes. Something is definitely missing from this dish. I'm not sure I would make this again. Too much work for disappointing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
If you have "wet/loose" potatos you don't need the soup. If your potatos are stiff, you do. 1/2 tsp of dry thyme & sage is plenty! Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I also made modifications, and it was very tasty. Added onions and mushrooms, then cooked ground chicken in. Then I added organic mushroom soup to give it some moisture, just enough to keep it from being dry. I added more corn probably 11/2 cups and a layer of peas in same qty. I didn't use the pepper. Also for my garlic I skin it and let it boil with potatoes and just mash it in. Gives a lovely mild garlic favour that is not too over powering. An d a little more cheese on top. Everyone had seconds:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
So good! Made enough to feed my husband and I for a few meals. It's just as good reheated too. Picky husband of mine even liked it enough to get over the bell peppers haha! Will use regularly, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
SUPER!!! Especially the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I gave this recipe a 5 and my husband gave it a 3 so I have rounded it to a 4. I will definitely be making this again. A great way to use up chicken dinner left-overs. I will be using dried rosemary next time as the fresh rosemary was a little bitter. At the recommendation of others I added a can of cream of mushroom soup on top of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
love this however i topped mine with honey cornbread mixed, just made up the batter and poured it over the pie and spinkled a lil more cheese on it bingo perfection!! thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Awesome! I used a different mashed potatoes recipe and peas instead of bell pepper and dried spices instead of fresh. My whole family (including my picky eater) ate it and didn't complain after that first bite. Perfect quick meal and using leftovers really helped, too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
My family & I loved this. I actually forgot to add any seasoning (salt, pepper, rosemary, & thyme), and it was still delicious. I added fresh mushrooms, and frozen peas, just because I had them. The potatoes were quite runny; I will decrease the liquid in the potatoes next time. We all agreed that it would be just as good without chicken, as well (side dish, or Meatless Mondays!). I will definitely be making this again. It was tasty, colourful, and my kids ate their veggies happily :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPACEANGEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made this recipe by memory, and I forgot the cheese. Nonetheless, it turned out yummy and it will probably taste even yummier next time. I figure I can use any left over beef/chicken/pork to make this pie! I did add 1/2 chicken stock to the raw veggies before topping with the mashed potatoes. My potatoes were prepared with 1 clove of minced garlic, 1/4 cup of sourcream, 1/4 cup of milk and a dash of kosher salt. Summary...keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States