Chicken Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I changed this recipe significantly to better appeal to my family, and we really liked the modifications. Instead of corn and peppers, I used green beans cooked with bacon and onions. I also made the mashed potatoes using whipped garlic-flavored cream cheese and milk instead of roasted garlic, butter and milk. (Much easier!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
i added french cut beans instead of red peppers. after reading a few of the posts that the casserol was bland... i decided to combine the vegetable, chicken and herbs with 1 can of cream of mushroom soup. it was phenomenal this way since chicken is kind of a dry meat. lastly, i didn't roast the garlic. instead just added finely minced garlic into the mashed potatoes before i baked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Very good!! A great use for leftover mashed potatoes. I simmered the chicken with the spices in chicken broth and red wine so that the flavors really soaked in -- this also made the pie extra juicy, which I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Great recipe, I did add some changes too! I did not do the roasted garlic. I cooked my chicken in a pan with some water to keep it moist; meanwhile I chopped 1/2 onion, 1/2 bell pepper and 4 strips of bacon. Sauteed together until onion softened. added some chopped garlic. Chopped my chicken with my food chopper then added 1 can chopped tomatoes and the spices ( I added oregano too) Let that simmer while finishing potatoes. I added about 1/2 c cheese to my mix, topped with potatoes, baked about 20 min, then topped with more cheese and broiled. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Surprised at how good this was. I was so tempted to add something to "sauce" the chicken, but decided to just follow the recipe. It was very moist and the cheese helped to bind the ingredients. A very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Delicious! My family thoroughly enjoyed this dish. I didn't have the spices that the recipe called for so I just used my own and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Uh! YUM!! Why this is only four stars beats me! I really loved this recipe! I made this for friends and it's gone and recipe was demanded! YUM! YUM! YUM! All around!! Wonderful for those cold days and nights!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
i wasnt very impressed with this recipe. I didnt like the texture, it felt mushy( however this might have been my fault...) and it was pretty dry and bland when it was finished. i like my shepards pie to have some juice, enough of it so you can dip the crust in it to mop it up! this had no juice what so ever, for me. i might keep experimenting with this recipe... it does have potential to be really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was okay though I won't make it again. I added a can of cream of chicken soup since others indicated it was dry. I also substituted frozen broccoli for the red peppers since I don't care for peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Really good, If you add the garlic to the chicken it's good as well. Peas and mushrooms are a great substitute to corn for a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States