Chicken Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2002
Great alternative to the beef version. I didn't really like the rosemary flavor, but that's just a personal thing. Yummy, stick-to-your-ribs dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
I used instant garlic potatoes for this recipe instead of cooking & mashing potatoes. This was a really good recipe (even my fiance liked this one). I added frozen peas in with the corn (and omitted the red peppers since I didn't have any). This is definitely a quick, yet hearty dish. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
I cooked my chicken in a little bit of olive oil with onions on top of stove and near the end to make it lots of gravy I put in 1 can of cream of chicken soup and a jar of chicken gravy. Layered the chicken/gravy mixture then added 2 cans of corn and topped it off with my mashed potatoes. Made enough of approximately 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
Surprised at how good this was. I was so tempted to add something to "sauce" the chicken, but decided to just follow the recipe. It was very moist and the cheese helped to bind the ingredients. A very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
This was the first time I had ever made a shepherd's pie as I do not care for ground beef too much. The chicken is a very nice change. Be sure not to over mix the potatoes so as to end up with a crisp topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I changed this recipe significantly to better appeal to my family, and we really liked the modifications. Instead of corn and peppers, I used green beans cooked with bacon and onions. I also made the mashed potatoes using whipped garlic-flavored cream cheese and milk instead of roasted garlic, butter and milk. (Much easier!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I probably would not make this again. I thought it was rather bland, although I didn't use the garlic because my hjusband doesn't like it. I didn't think there was enough cheese or veggies. I guess there are just other things I would rather make with these ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Very good!! A great use for leftover mashed potatoes. I simmered the chicken with the spices in chicken broth and red wine so that the flavors really soaked in -- this also made the pie extra juicy, which I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Uh! YUM!! Why this is only four stars beats me! I really loved this recipe! I made this for friends and it's gone and recipe was demanded! YUM! YUM! YUM! All around!! Wonderful for those cold days and nights!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Really good, If you add the garlic to the chicken it's good as well. Peas and mushrooms are a great substitute to corn for a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States