Chicken Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
i wasnt very impressed with this recipe. I didnt like the texture, it felt mushy( however this might have been my fault...) and it was pretty dry and bland when it was finished. i like my shepards pie to have some juice, enough of it so you can dip the crust in it to mop it up! this had no juice what so ever, for me. i might keep experimenting with this recipe... it does have potential to be really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2007
Our family enjoyed this, I gave it thee stars because I had to doctor the flavor up with extra seasonings. The original recipe is a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Photo by JenniferJP
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Just OK. Eight potatoes was way too many, I ended up using about six, and it was still too much. This was a bit bland, I had to serve a side of brown gravy to add flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Just so-so, thought it was a bit dry. Good flavor but for us it needs to have a sauce or gravy with the chicken, under the potato topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Really good, If you add the garlic to the chicken it's good as well. Peas and mushrooms are a great substitute to corn for a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Uh! YUM!! Why this is only four stars beats me! I really loved this recipe! I made this for friends and it's gone and recipe was demanded! YUM! YUM! YUM! All around!! Wonderful for those cold days and nights!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
Very good!! A great use for leftover mashed potatoes. I simmered the chicken with the spices in chicken broth and red wine so that the flavors really soaked in -- this also made the pie extra juicy, which I liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
I probably would not make this again. I thought it was rather bland, although I didn't use the garlic because my hjusband doesn't like it. I didn't think there was enough cheese or veggies. I guess there are just other things I would rather make with these ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cherry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2005
I changed this recipe significantly to better appeal to my family, and we really liked the modifications. Instead of corn and peppers, I used green beans cooked with bacon and onions. I also made the mashed potatoes using whipped garlic-flavored cream cheese and milk instead of roasted garlic, butter and milk. (Much easier!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2003
This was the first time I had ever made a shepherd's pie as I do not care for ground beef too much. The chicken is a very nice change. Be sure not to over mix the potatoes so as to end up with a crisp topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESSIELTTE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States