Chicken Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Awesome! I used a different mashed potatoes recipe and peas instead of bell pepper and dried spices instead of fresh. My whole family (including my picky eater) ate it and didn't complain after that first bite. Perfect quick meal and using leftovers really helped, too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
My family & I loved this. I actually forgot to add any seasoning (salt, pepper, rosemary, & thyme), and it was still delicious. I added fresh mushrooms, and frozen peas, just because I had them. The potatoes were quite runny; I will decrease the liquid in the potatoes next time. We all agreed that it would be just as good without chicken, as well (side dish, or Meatless Mondays!). I will definitely be making this again. It was tasty, colourful, and my kids ate their veggies happily :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPACEANGEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
I made this recipe by memory, and I forgot the cheese. Nonetheless, it turned out yummy and it will probably taste even yummier next time. I figure I can use any left over beef/chicken/pork to make this pie! I did add 1/2 chicken stock to the raw veggies before topping with the mashed potatoes. My potatoes were prepared with 1 clove of minced garlic, 1/4 cup of sourcream, 1/4 cup of milk and a dash of kosher salt. Summary...keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I sauteed garlic with 2-3 sticks celery, added the chicken which I fork shredded. Then added 2 cups of water mixed with Chicken Bisto. I used mixed veges. I always add an egg yolk to my shepherd's pie potatoes. I'd never done one with cheese this way and YES the cheese is a hit. I am making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Great recipe if you have leftover roasted chicken or turkey and mashed potatoes. My only suggestions are to pour a can of cream of mushroom soup in with the chicken and veggie mixture and make sure you bake in a shallow casserole dish as opposed to something like what is shown in the photo. I put my pie together in a deeper dish and it took forever to cook, but it turned out tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
This was okay though I won't make it again. I added a can of cream of chicken soup since others indicated it was dry. I also substituted frozen broccoli for the red peppers since I don't care for peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Great recipe, I did add some changes too! I did not do the roasted garlic. I cooked my chicken in a pan with some water to keep it moist; meanwhile I chopped 1/2 onion, 1/2 bell pepper and 4 strips of bacon. Sauteed together until onion softened. added some chopped garlic. Chopped my chicken with my food chopper then added 1 can chopped tomatoes and the spices ( I added oregano too) Let that simmer while finishing potatoes. I added about 1/2 c cheese to my mix, topped with potatoes, baked about 20 min, then topped with more cheese and broiled. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I grilled the chicken until just browned. I then cut it up and sauteed it in chicken broth and 1/2 packet of Ranch dressing mix. I substituted green beans for the veggies. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Delicious! I had my hubby make this recipe for dinner on his cooking night. Nice-n-easy for him as there was no pie crust to make. :) Turned out great! Was also great as leftovers. I used dried thyme and rosemary so only half a tablespoon of each was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I didn't use the roasted garlic but added garlic salt instead. I forgot the corn and used peppers and broccoli instead. My 2 and 3 year old had 4 servings!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vivienne

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States