Chicken Shawarmas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2010
I wanted to give these a better rating, but I felt the chicken was a bit bland. I also don't like mayonnaise, but prefer a plain yogurt style tzaziki sauce - easy to make with plain yogurt, grated cucumber, garlic & lemon juice. I made these the second time with the changes and marinated my chicken strips for a couple hours in a bit of olive oil, lemon, fresh garlic, oregano and the garam masala. We grilled these on the grill and heated the pita on there too. Added the sauce and they were delicious. I've never had them with a pickle, but my son thought that was a super idea. Great summer dish and I added a side of Tabouleh salad as a cool salad sticking to the Middle Eastern theme. Thanks for submitting - one could do alot with this dish to make it the way they like it. Thanks for serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Oh YUM...We LOVED these!!! I have never had/cooked with garam masala, so I wasn't sure what to expect, but it was wonderful! I also seasoned the chicken with salt pepper and garlic powder (along w/ the garam masala) for extra flavor. I opted to use flatbreads because I felt it would hold up better, and I wasn't disappointed. I only had sliced pickles on hand, so I went with it. Oh, and the garlic mayo just put this over the top! I really couldn't believe how these simple ingredients ended up being such a delicous sandwich...hubby was even impressed! I will definately be making these again, for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I don't have garam masala, so I used a combination of cumin, coriander, ground black peppercorns, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and garlic...and I was supposed to use cardamom too, but I didn't have any. I also used a little salt and a pinch of nutmeg. I just used as much as I thought I needed of everything, but you can look up a recipe for garam masala online too. Anyway, besides that I sliced up some cucumber since I don't have pickles (yes really). I'm sure I will make this again some time! We had it for dinner but it would be great for lunch too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Ohmygoodness! These are delicious. My husband and I were looking for something comparable to our favorite Mediterranean restaurant, and I think we found it. The ingredients are so simple that I was honestly surprised at how great it turned out. I am kind of wishing that I had doubled the recipe now so that we could have more leftovers for tomorrow, but I will just have to make this again soon. I was leery about the pickles, but I really think that this would taste kind of plain if they weren't in it. So good! With as much as we liked this, we will probably be making this every week, and that is not like me at all. Thank you for this fabulous recipe, Luke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I did not follow the recipe directions on preparing these. Instead of placing the pita bread flat, then piling the ingredients on top,folding and serving, I placed my Toufayan Pita rounds between two damp paper towels and placed in the microwave for less than a minute. Removed from the microwave, laid the rounds flat and cut in half, making two halves. I then took my fingers and lifted the cut edges up to form the pita pockets – no tears in the pita bread and no mess when enjoying the ingredients inside the pocket. I used McCormicks ® Gourmet Collection Master Blends Garam Masala and Mt. Olive Deli Style Kosher Dill Relish made with sea salt. Mrs. J, another Buzz Recipe Group participant, suggested the minced garlic be combined with honey to alleviate the “skunky taste" of the garlic and I followed her suggestion which was spot on. We enjoyed the Chicken Shawarmas and will be making again. Thank you for sharing your easy, quick and tasty recipe, Luke Summers. Recipe Group Selection on June 7, 2014.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I have made the chicken for these "Chicken Shawarmas" for years for salads but had never thought to put it in a pita bread. My husband enjoyed it like that. I used Middle-Eastern-style pita bread (which is much lighter than Greek pita bread) wrapped in the Middle-Eastern style ("pita wraps"). I have three homemade variations on Garam Masala made from recipes from different parts of India in my cupboard (Herbs & Spices: The Cook's Reference, Jill Norman), so obviously I think whether or not someone likes this recipe may depend on the type of Garam Masala they use. I think this particular recipe would also be good with Saudi Baharat (a favorite seasoning blend at our home). I used a microplane for my garlic but did not especially like it added directly to mayonnaise: I would let the garlic sit in a tad of honey for 15 minutes to take the "skunky taste" off it before adding it to the mayonnaise next time. Also, my husband prefers his pita wraps with lettuce and tomatoes. Nonetheless, this is a good "quick and easy" meal for a busy day. Thank you Luke Summers for sharing your recipe. [RECIPE GROUP JUNE 7, 2014]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. J.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was tasty, but not exactly what I know of chicken shwarmas. The chicken was pretty close and I liked the added pickles. The garlic is also a must. However, the ones I have tried had the garlic, but it was a slightly different garlic sauce. I also think they had tahini in them too. Also, from what I remember there was also some vegetables lettuce, onions, or something. This sandwich though, was easy to make. I even used the recipe Easy Garam Masala from AR and made what I needed for the recipe. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 07, June 2014 ~ Shawarmas and garam masala were two new items for our family to experience. I used 'Easy Garam Masala' from AR in this recipe, and just cut the recipe back to one-fourth the amount due to me using 1 large chicken breast. I bought pita bread at our favorite Greek restaurant to use with this recipe. We liked the taste and I liked the ease of the recipe, but felt it needed lettuce and tomatoes and maybe some onions added. We really enjoyed the taste of the garam masala and I look forward to using it again. This is a good wrap, and I plan on making it again, just will added the above mentioned veggies. These were served with 'Good for You Greek Salad' and 'Buttery Pecan Green Beans' both from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
RECIPE GROUP: Yum yum yum. DBF actually said, out loud, "it's like a party in my mouth!" He doesn't really talk like that, so, obviously this was a huge win. It was super easy too, once I got past the garam masala (had sticker shock at the grocery store so decided to make my own, using 'Easy Garam Masala' from this site). Somehow managed to run out of fresh garlic so had to use powder :( but that won't happen again! Helped that my pickles were homemade and super garlicky. Loved the ease of preparation and fabulous flavor, can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe and very easy. I had doubts about the chicken and mayo but it turned out great. I did make some more additons though : Instead of full mayo, I added some plain yogurt as well. I also made a tahini sauce with sesame seeds, olive oil and garlic. The pickles add a lot IMO. Along with this, I added lettuce, tomatoes and onion slices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Chicken Shawarma

See how to make a truly flavorful chicken sandwich.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States