Chicken Shawarmas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Didn't taste like other chicken shawarmas I've had but was very good. I've made them several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Made exactly as stated. I have never had shawarma but we didn't like this at all. Tasted like a weird cinnamon garlic pickle combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This was tasty, but not exactly what I know of chicken shwarmas. The chicken was pretty close and I liked the added pickles. The garlic is also a must. However, the ones I have tried had the garlic, but it was a slightly different garlic sauce. I also think they had tahini in them too. Also, from what I remember there was also some vegetables lettuce, onions, or something. This sandwich though, was easy to make. I even used the recipe Easy Garam Masala from AR and made what I needed for the recipe. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Ohmygoodness! These are delicious. My husband and I were looking for something comparable to our favorite Mediterranean restaurant, and I think we found it. The ingredients are so simple that I was honestly surprised at how great it turned out. I am kind of wishing that I had doubled the recipe now so that we could have more leftovers for tomorrow, but I will just have to make this again soon. I was leery about the pickles, but I really think that this would taste kind of plain if they weren't in it. So good! With as much as we liked this, we will probably be making this every week, and that is not like me at all. Thank you for this fabulous recipe, Luke!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Excellent recipe and very easy. I had doubts about the chicken and mayo but it turned out great. I did make some more additons though : Instead of full mayo, I added some plain yogurt as well. I also made a tahini sauce with sesame seeds, olive oil and garlic. The pickles add a lot IMO. Along with this, I added lettuce, tomatoes and onion slices. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
These were pretty good but I made lots of changes. I used thighs instead of breasts. I used a basic curry seasoning I had on hand. I used half mayo and half sour cream for the garlic spread. I had fresh from the garden tomatoes, lettuce and onion so I sliced those up and used them instead of pickles. My 3 and 5 year old boys liked it too. I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeromesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kappelrodeck, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
It was wonderful. I put lettuce in the pita instead of pickles. I also use Creole seasoning instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COACHINGVOLLEYBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Oh YUM...We LOVED these!!! I have never had/cooked with garam masala, so I wasn't sure what to expect, but it was wonderful! I also seasoned the chicken with salt pepper and garlic powder (along w/ the garam masala) for extra flavor. I opted to use flatbreads because I felt it would hold up better, and I wasn't disappointed. I only had sliced pickles on hand, so I went with it. Oh, and the garlic mayo just put this over the top! I really couldn't believe how these simple ingredients ended up being such a delicous sandwich...hubby was even impressed! I will definately be making these again, for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I don't have garam masala, so I used a combination of cumin, coriander, ground black peppercorns, cinnamon, cloves, ginger, and garlic...and I was supposed to use cardamom too, but I didn't have any. I also used a little salt and a pinch of nutmeg. I just used as much as I thought I needed of everything, but you can look up a recipe for garam masala online too. Anyway, besides that I sliced up some cucumber since I don't have pickles (yes really). I'm sure I will make this again some time! We had it for dinner but it would be great for lunch too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I made this for lunch with some leftover chicken gyro meat. I liked the garlic mayo with the chicken and the pita. I forgot the pickle at home, but this was still very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 11-20 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Chicken Shawarma

See how to make a truly flavorful chicken sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States