Chicken Shawarmas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Recipe Group Selection for June 7, 2014 - This is one of those recipes that you’re not quite sure if you liked it or not. Never having had tried a shawarma, I wasn't sure what to expect. I’m glad I tried it, was good for a change, but not my favorite. I’m not a fan of mayonnaise so I used Greek yogurt instead which worked out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
I did not follow the recipe directions on preparing these. Instead of placing the pita bread flat, then piling the ingredients on top,folding and serving, I placed my Toufayan Pita rounds between two damp paper towels and placed in the microwave for less than a minute. Removed from the microwave, laid the rounds flat and cut in half, making two halves. I then took my fingers and lifted the cut edges up to form the pita pockets – no tears in the pita bread and no mess when enjoying the ingredients inside the pocket. I used McCormicks ® Gourmet Collection Master Blends Garam Masala and Mt. Olive Deli Style Kosher Dill Relish made with sea salt. Mrs. J, another Buzz Recipe Group participant, suggested the minced garlic be combined with honey to alleviate the “skunky taste" of the garlic and I followed her suggestion which was spot on. We enjoyed the Chicken Shawarmas and will be making again. Thank you for sharing your easy, quick and tasty recipe, Luke Summers. Recipe Group Selection on June 7, 2014.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
I had garam marsala and was glad to find another recipe to use it! Chicken is very fragrant while cooking. I warmed up the pitas a little bit - my only problem was getting a rather healthy bite of garlic mayo where the garlic was too strong. I think I didn't throughly mix it (I'll make sure to do so next time) or use a little less garlic. My husband and I liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Recipe Group Selection: 07, June 2014 ~ Shawarmas and garam masala were two new items for our family to experience. I used 'Easy Garam Masala' from AR in this recipe, and just cut the recipe back to one-fourth the amount due to me using 1 large chicken breast. I bought pita bread at our favorite Greek restaurant to use with this recipe. We liked the taste and I liked the ease of the recipe, but felt it needed lettuce and tomatoes and maybe some onions added. We really enjoyed the taste of the garam masala and I look forward to using it again. This is a good wrap, and I plan on making it again, just will added the above mentioned veggies. These were served with 'Good for You Greek Salad' and 'Buttery Pecan Green Beans' both from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I have made the chicken for these "Chicken Shawarmas" for years for salads but had never thought to put it in a pita bread. My husband enjoyed it like that. I used Middle-Eastern-style pita bread (which is much lighter than Greek pita bread) wrapped in the Middle-Eastern style ("pita wraps"). I have three homemade variations on Garam Masala made from recipes from different parts of India in my cupboard (Herbs & Spices: The Cook's Reference, Jill Norman), so obviously I think whether or not someone likes this recipe may depend on the type of Garam Masala they use. I think this particular recipe would also be good with Saudi Baharat (a favorite seasoning blend at our home). I used a microplane for my garlic but did not especially like it added directly to mayonnaise: I would let the garlic sit in a tad of honey for 15 minutes to take the "skunky taste" off it before adding it to the mayonnaise next time. Also, my husband prefers his pita wraps with lettuce and tomatoes. Nonetheless, this is a good "quick and easy" meal for a busy day. Thank you Luke Summers for sharing your recipe. [RECIPE GROUP JUNE 7, 2014]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
RECIPE GROUP: Yum yum yum. DBF actually said, out loud, "it's like a party in my mouth!" He doesn't really talk like that, so, obviously this was a huge win. It was super easy too, once I got past the garam masala (had sticker shock at the grocery store so decided to make my own, using 'Easy Garam Masala' from this site). Somehow managed to run out of fresh garlic so had to use powder :( but that won't happen again! Helped that my pickles were homemade and super garlicky. Loved the ease of preparation and fabulous flavor, can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Made this for RECIPE GROUP and we liked it. I thought the flavors went together really well. Made the easy garam masala recipe on AR for the spice. I did add a bit of garlic salt to the chicken mixture. The garlic mayo is awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The ones in Qatar had fries in them lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I used hummus instead of the mayo mixture, vegetarian "chicken" with curry powder, lettuce, and pickles. It was delicious. My husband liked it too. Thanks for the recipe idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Didn't taste like other chicken shawarmas I've had but was very good. I've made them several times now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet, Sticky and Spicy Chicken

Strips of chicken breast simmer in a sweet, spicy, gingery sauce.

Chicken Shawarma

See how to make a truly flavorful chicken sandwich.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States