Chicken Shawarma Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
I made this last night and followed the recipe exactly. The tahini sauce wasn't good at all, and the chicken was pretty bland to boot. Takeout to the rescue. We've had a w-o-n-d-e-r-f-u-l shawarma at a local family-owned lebanese restaurant, and this was nothing like it. I'll be trying a different recipe tonight and I'm hoping for better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SavageHuman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rutland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Not good. I also have had many shawarmas and the prominent vinegar flavor was enough for me to toss in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
the sauce for this was really bad tasting. I followed the recipe exactly and oh boy i had to throw it away.I love Shawarmas and this did not taste anything like it should have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Awesome with garlic mayo instead of tahini
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigDaddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I think I'll keep looking for a better shawarma recipe. The chicken was just ok and I really didn't like the Tahini sauce at all. I've had good shawarma, so I know the taste I am looking for - this wasn't it. Thanks anyways for the recipe>
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was FABULOUS! I was craving this sandwich but couldn't find a restaurant so decided to try it myself. I have never written a review but felt I had to after this. The only change I made was adding cut-up mini dill pickles rather than the tomato. Thank you for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This didn't taste like schawarma I'm used to getting in restaurants. But it was still a pretty good sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This made a great, if messy, lunch. I found the tahini spread a little too bitter for my taste, and ended up doubling the yogurt and lemon juice to counter it. It was good that way, but next time I think I'll just use hummus and top with some tzatziki and hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Boukey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Explorer wouldn't work for this website anymore, so I had to improvise with the ingredients and the preparation. Regardless, they were DELICIOUS!!! I added Tabbouli to my sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Shawarma

See how to make a truly flavorful chicken sandwich.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States