Chicken, Seasoned Rice and Vegetable Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was ok. Not spectacular like OMG this is GREAT, but not ewww, yuck icky either. I added extra seasonings to my taste, and cooked the rice a bit first so cooking time would be accurate for the chicken and rice, but it was still just very bland, but not inedible. There were no textural problems, but I wouldn't make it again because I don't want to have to excessively doctor up a recipe. Also gave points for how easy it was to make. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This recipe turned out to be a train wreck for me! I followed it exactly and after an hour of baking the rice is completely under cooked and hard. I had to separate the chicken from the sauce/veggie/rice mixture and put it in a saucepan to try again. I'm hoping I can salvage the rice but at this point it's a lost cause and I've waisted lots of good ingredients. I will never make this again. Ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This is a great recipe. The only thing I did differently is replace the water with chicken broth. I have also used fresh veggies in place of frozen twice. Once with baby carrots and once with sugar snap peas~great both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Had to do some substitutions based on stuff on hand. Here is what I did: used brown rice with a packet of Hidden Valley Ranch Dips seasoning, used mixed frozen vegetables (carrots, peas, green beans, and corn) about 2 cups, and instead of paprika used plain salt & pepper on the chicken. This was delicous! Both my dad and I ate 2 salad bowls full. I would recommend doubling the recipe for more than 3 people- we barely had leftover between the 2 of us (plus my 2 year old daughter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
I did some things different,instead of water i used milk,and a spoonful of sour cream,to make it creamier..To make the chicken more flavorful I dressed it up a bit,with some garlic powder sprinkled on both sides, Goya seasoning on both sides,a little bit of dill on one side,a sprinkle of sazon Goya on both sides,instead of the paprika. Than i placed the chicken on top,and sprinkled some lemon juice over it,was a nice touch,other than that I followed everything else to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Quick and easy but COMPLETELY bland. After reading the ingredients, I substituted the Cream of Mushroom for Cream of Chicken, and with the Paprika I added some Thyme, a touch of Ginger (I was using the frozen Stir-Fry veggies) and some Cayenne. It smelled delicious, but unfortunately it was completely tasteless. Will not be making agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
use up those leftovers this dish is a great one for that.you can use any cream soup really they all seem to work out great for me.My hubby can even make this dish without help and he can hardly make toast.LOL this works great with pork chops as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This was okay, nothing too special but definitely super quick to prepare and was made with common household ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This dish is the most flavorful chicken casserole you will find. Good dish to make for family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vamprokgoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States