Chicken Seashell Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I really liked the combination of chicken, cashews, celery, and fruit. However, the dressing was too bland for me and the almond flavoring just didn't seem to work. I would make this again, but I would add curry to the dressing instead of the almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
My family loved it. Left out the apples, added more pineapple tidbits, added a lg. can of mandarin oranges and glazed the nuts. Didn't use the almond extract added curry powder instead. Good the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mn78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
This was such a big hit that anytime we have family get togethers everyone wants me to bring it. So much for potatoe salad. Thanks for this great recipe and for the great reviews I got for making it. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Fabulous recipe!! My only addition to this recipe was green grapes. If you're going to make this a day ahead, wait to add the cashews until just before serving so they stay crunchy. I served this at our 30th wedding anniversary open house and people raved about it. I will make this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOOKEC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
I took this to a "salad supper" and it did not go over well @ all. It was too sweet and the almond extract gave it a funky flavor. Even though no one told me that they didn't like the recipe it was pretty evident when more than half was left. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Excellent -- I took the advice from other raters and it was prefect! Here’s what I did: 3 cups cooked pasta shells, no cashews, 2 full chicken breasts, 6 oz pineapple tidbits, 1/2 cup reserved pineapple juice, 1 big red delicious apple (peels on), 1/3 cup celery, 1/3 cup carrots (shredded with a serrated knife), 1 can mandarin oranges, 1/2 cup red grapes, 1 cup mayonnaise, 1/2 teaspoon almond extract, 3 tablespoons mint flakes. I also used the remaining pineapple juice and the mandarin orange juice to boil the pasta. Good stuff, very pretty! Update: Didn't like next day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CECILIAMORISON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a refreshingly different chicken salad. The almond extract adds a wonderful flavor that enhances the apples and the chicken! Thanks for sharing, Maggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
VERY GOOD! I would add more pasta than it calls for. I used red apples and no almond flavoring.. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Justin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This recipe leaves a lot to be desired. The flavor, consistency, color, everyone ate a very small serving, but no one took seconds. I usually get rave reviews on my dishes from my friends, but NOT THIS ONE. I definitely wouldn't do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I made this recipe today for my fiancé. He loves it but he said more nuts. I used clementine oranges instead...Very good salad. It would be a great recipe for picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States