Chicken Seashell Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I really liked the combination of chicken, cashews, celery, and fruit. However, the dressing was too bland for me and the almond flavoring just didn't seem to work. I would make this again, but I would add curry to the dressing instead of the almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
My family loved it. Left out the apples, added more pineapple tidbits, added a lg. can of mandarin oranges and glazed the nuts. Didn't use the almond extract added curry powder instead. Good the next day too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mn78

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
This was such a big hit that anytime we have family get togethers everyone wants me to bring it. So much for potatoe salad. Thanks for this great recipe and for the great reviews I got for making it. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Fabulous recipe!! My only addition to this recipe was green grapes. If you're going to make this a day ahead, wait to add the cashews until just before serving so they stay crunchy. I served this at our 30th wedding anniversary open house and people raved about it. I will make this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
I took this to a "salad supper" and it did not go over well @ all. It was too sweet and the almond extract gave it a funky flavor. Even though no one told me that they didn't like the recipe it was pretty evident when more than half was left. I don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blenheim, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Darlington, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Excellent -- I took the advice from other raters and it was prefect! Here’s what I did: 3 cups cooked pasta shells, no cashews, 2 full chicken breasts, 6 oz pineapple tidbits, 1/2 cup reserved pineapple juice, 1 big red delicious apple (peels on), 1/3 cup celery, 1/3 cup carrots (shredded with a serrated knife), 1 can mandarin oranges, 1/2 cup red grapes, 1 cup mayonnaise, 1/2 teaspoon almond extract, 3 tablespoons mint flakes. I also used the remaining pineapple juice and the mandarin orange juice to boil the pasta. Good stuff, very pretty! Update: Didn't like next day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CECILIAMORISON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a refreshingly different chicken salad. The almond extract adds a wonderful flavor that enhances the apples and the chicken! Thanks for sharing, Maggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
VERY GOOD! I would add more pasta than it calls for. I used red apples and no almond flavoring.. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA
Living In: Justin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This recipe leaves a lot to be desired. The flavor, consistency, color, everyone ate a very small serving, but no one took seconds. I usually get rave reviews on my dishes from my friends, but NOT THIS ONE. I definitely wouldn't do this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
I made this recipe today for my fiancé. He loves it but he said more nuts. I used clementine oranges instead...Very good salad. It would be a great recipe for picnic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States