Chicken Seashell Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2003
Excellent -- I took the advice from other raters and it was prefect! Here’s what I did: 3 cups cooked pasta shells, no cashews, 2 full chicken breasts, 6 oz pineapple tidbits, 1/2 cup reserved pineapple juice, 1 big red delicious apple (peels on), 1/3 cup celery, 1/3 cup carrots (shredded with a serrated knife), 1 can mandarin oranges, 1/2 cup red grapes, 1 cup mayonnaise, 1/2 teaspoon almond extract, 3 tablespoons mint flakes. I also used the remaining pineapple juice and the mandarin orange juice to boil the pasta. Good stuff, very pretty! Update: Didn't like next day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CECILIAMORISON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2003
My daughter and I really liked this recipe. My husband, son, and toddler didn't... This is a good recipe for a shower side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2003
I absolutely LOVED this salad that I made for a potluck family reunion! Others loved it too. I think the almond extract makes the whole recipe and gives it a very unique flavor. I doubled the recipe and used Light Miracle Whip, 3 different kinds of pasta, added grapes, and i added a handful of freshly chopped mint leaves. Delicious! I will definitely make this many times in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2003
My family loved this recipe. I was a little skeptical about the almond extract, but added it anyway. The flavor of the dressing was great on the salad. I don't usually care for pasta salad, but this one is very tasty. The celery & mandarin oranges are critical to the salad for color. Everything else in it is white and not very pretty. I used fat free mayo and will probably leave out the cashews next time to make it very low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2003
Wonderful, refreshing salad! I added a little salt after tasting it to balance out the flavor, because it was pretty sweet. I also used fat free mayo. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2003
I gave the recipe 3 stars because two of my guests loved it. I didn't. I used Perdue already cooked chicken and that may have been the problem since the flavor of the chicken did battle with the mayo/pineapple juice. The toasted cashews are a MUST to make it edible and I added extra pineapple, extra pineapple juice, red seedless grapes and yellow apples (unpeeled). It was a lot of work for something I don't want to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Fabulous recipe!! My only addition to this recipe was green grapes. If you're going to make this a day ahead, wait to add the cashews until just before serving so they stay crunchy. I served this at our 30th wedding anniversary open house and people raved about it. I will make this often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
This was such a big hit that anytime we have family get togethers everyone wants me to bring it. So much for potatoe salad. Thanks for this great recipe and for the great reviews I got for making it. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2002
This is a refreshingly different chicken salad. The almond extract adds a wonderful flavor that enhances the apples and the chicken! Thanks for sharing, Maggie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
I really liked the combination of chicken, cashews, celery, and fruit. However, the dressing was too bland for me and the almond flavoring just didn't seem to work. I would make this again, but I would add curry to the dressing instead of the almond flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruity Curry Chicken Salad

See how to make a tasty curry chicken salad with lots of healthy fruit.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States