Chicken Scarpariello Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2002
I first had this at a little Italian place near me. It's one of those places that makes their own pastas and you can chose which kind you want with your meal. The chef recommended it over penne. When I tried it I wished I could make this at home. I found the recipe here and it was FANTASTIC! It was better then the italian place! I add chicken stock instead of the water and I still use the boullion. I like the sauce a little thicker so while it's simmering down a bit, i add a LITTLE flour water mixture while stirring the pan. AND, the kicker that puts it over the top....LEMON JUICE. Squeeze some fresh lemon juice in the pan. SO GOOD YOU WILL CRY. So far, I made this three times and had a total of 17 people try it (i make HUGE amounts of it at a time, usually three pans cooking at once). EVERYONE loved it and they were SO impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
392 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2000
This dish is quite delicious, but I prefer a stronger flavor in the meat, so I salted and peppered the chicken BEFORE sauteeing, and I browned the garlic in the oil BEFORE browning the chicken pieces, so that the oil was infused with the garlic flavor. This also made for faster preparation! Thanks Jill! Great recipe! It's so hard to find things my five-year-old husband really likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
Simply outstanding! The chicken is fork tender in a smooth, rich and velvety sauce made so by swirling in a couple of tablespoons of butter once the sauce has reduced. I salted and peppered the chicken before browning, and made sure not to cook it quite completely so that it would not overcook once returned to the sauce. I used fresh rosemary rather than the dried, as I believe it imparts an entirely different and more subtle flavor. Served on a bed of tri-color angel hair pasta, this was as good a dish as I've had anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
On Long Island, good Italian restaurants serve this dish family style. It contains chicken on the bone cut or chopped into bite size pieces, along with chunks of Italian sweet and hot sausage, chunked up mushrooms, whole garlic cloves, potatoes cut into small chunks, lots of black pepper, lemon juice, fresh rosemary sprigs, and olive oil. All the main ingredients are browned on the stove then finished in the oven in a casserole and seasoned to taste. With a salad and fresh bread, it's a meal all by itself. "Scarpariello" means shoemaker in Italian, and this signifies that the dish is rustic in origin and makes use of whatever is handy in the kitchen. So it's pretty open-ended. If you use chicken cutlets, lemon and garlic, it's "picatta" - piquant. Nothing is considered wrong in how the dish is made because the results are always "right"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Free fall chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
This is a very elegant dish that I have made quite a few times. I like to cut the chicken into a small dice before browning - makes it easier to eat with pasta. Sweet onion can be used in place of the shallot, but be sure to use a dry white wine. I have ruined the dish a couple of times using cooking wine and also a sweet white wine - tasted terrible! Thanks for sharing the recipe, Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I really liked the flavor of this, but as another reviewer commented...it looked as if I poured soup over the pasta. I will definately fix again, but will thicken the sauce next time. I really liked the wine flavor...it was delicious. I didn't have shallots on hand so I used a bit of white onion instead. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Instead of water and chicken bouillon, use chicken broth. You can get it with less salt than with the bouillon, and better flavor. As with others, I also recommend using less or as an option thicken it with a little flour and water for finishing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
A very tasty and quick dish. Probably made it 30 times now. I added FRESH rosemary this last time and WOW!!!. I sometimes add 1/4 cup heavy cream for a whiter, thicker sauce. Have 4 teenagers that love it and ask for it by name. Usually serve over fettuccini, sometimes rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cranberry Twp, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
I wish I had read some of the other's advice but I had printed this recipe off months ago and just chose to make it now. Let me put it this way: I served over angel hair pasta and it looked like I just put chicken strips over the pasta and poured chicken broth overall. HOWEVER, the taste was really good..despite its bland appearance. The "sauce" didn't thicken really well but next time, I might take some previous reviewer's advice to remedy that. Also, I might add some garlic powder to the flour when coating the chicken. However, I followed the recipe to the letter and it turned out realy good...or as the submitter says "delicate." Would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This was incredibly quick to prepare, as well as delicious! Instead of cutting the chicken into strips, I sliced the chicken where I had thin "fillets" - I simply took a sharp knife and made thin diagonal cuts that were just slightly parallel. I seasoned the flour w/ a little bit of garlic powder, salt and black pepper, and seasoned the chicken w/ black pepper, crushed rosemary, and salt. I sautéed the garlic in a mixture of EVOO and butter. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedailygourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 334) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Artichoke and Sun-dried Tomato Chicken

This simple Italian-inspired meal is ready in less than 45 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States