Chicken Scarpariello Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
The first time my boyfriend and I tried to make it, we added a little too much extras. We replaced the water with broth as another reviewer stated, however, we also added the chicken bullion, and It came out way too salty. This time around, I added the broth instead of water and used the goya chicken bullion packets (just a sprinkle), I had no scallions so I utilized what I had, which were yellow onions and a sprinkle of flour in the sauce to thicken the mixture. The rest was as the recipe asked for. I have to tell u, my oldest son is my food critic. He came out for seconds:-) awesome sign that the food was fantastic. I have to agree:-) lol happy cooking:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bee nice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Great flavor. After letting the sauce reduce to about half (it was hard to tell, since it was still very liquidy, so I did it by taste) I decided to add the cooked angel hair to the pan. I let it soak and simmer for another 3 minutes, then added the chicken and let things go for another 2 minutes. By then, most of the liquid was soaked so there was a good amount of "sauce". We also threw some parm cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
If you don't have someone helping you in the kitchen make sure you have everything prepped before starting. Luckily, my husband was on standby to help me cut stuff up because I went in a little unprepared. That being said, this is a great recipe. If you boil down your sauce too much, don't panic. Let it go until it becomes a little like a paste and then add a half cup of water and allow it to come to the right consistency. I didn't really need to use flour to thicken the sauce and I didn't get something soupy like others have, so hopefully that will help. All and all we really enjoyed this one. There are numerous vegetables, like broccoli and spinach, that could be added to make this a true meal on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Delicious! Made this for a family dinner last night (had the sister in law and nieces over) and everyone inhaled it. Wish I'd made more! I did adjust--no scallops, left out the wine, forgot the rosemary and added more flour to make a thicker gravy. I also added seasoned salt to the flour mix I put on the chicken. So easy and relatively quick. My picky niece didn't even blink an eye and was trying to eat before we'd all been served. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Would work with oriental sauces like orange or sweet 'n' sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Loved the flavor for a change of pace. I salt and peppered the chicken lightly before flouring like another reviewer mentioned. And the other minor change was to add the bouillon cube to the skillet with the water and wine so that I didn't dirty another pan. Once the broth boiled it dissolved the cube. Make sure to reduce the liquid. It makes a nice glaze to coat the chicken. I served with angel hair and broccoli. Perfect combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
This was not good. My daughter asked if we were ever going to have this again...after one bite. Too soupy, flavorless and just not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
Delicious and easy! I followed everyone's suggestions: used chicken broth, but added a little bouillon, too; added extra broth and wine for more sauce; thickened sauce before putting chicken back in pan. I was concerned because I don't love rosemary, but it was very subtle. Next time, I'll add mushrooms. Served with penne pasta. Very good and little mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This is good. My kids didn't really care for the flavor of the Rosemary. If I make this again I might have to find a substitute for it if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was great. My husband and I love this. I added flour to the sauce to make the sauce thinker. We love thinker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States