Chicken Scarpariello Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
although the flavoring was great...i adjusted and added less water but substituted lemon juice to equal 1 cup. I also added sausage and red pepper. it was a soupy mess. disgusting and embarassing. i read other reviews and was prepared to make a slurry with cornstarch but i was amazed at how much i neeeded to get the right consistency. 2 stars for nice flavor but unless you want to serve chicken scarpariello soup you might want to decrease volume of liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This is soo very yummy! I added some italian seasoning to the flour. I also had to thicken the sauce like others said. Last thing I did was a can of diced tomatoes at the end and served over pasta. My 15 month old ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I used 3 chicken breasts and cut them into bite size pieces. I didn't have shallots so I used 1/2 an onion (will use 1/4 next time). Also, instead of the water and bouillon I just used 1 cup of chicken broth and I squeezed half a lemon into the sauce too. When I removed the chicken I added a slurry of cornstarch and water to the sauce. I then added the chicken back to the pan and simmered everything together. I served it over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alayna B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
A great dish! I will definitely be making this again! I, too, made the sauce thicker by adding a cornstarch/water mixture. If you make it a little too thick like I did :)...then just add more chicken broth, worked for me. And took the advice of one reviewer and diced it instead of putting it in strips and it worked well. The white wine I used was Pinot Grigio, it went perfect in the dish AND to drink with the dish. I ended up serving mine over rigatoni since I didn't have enough mostaccioli in my pantry for the dish and it still paired great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made this using chicken quarters, and then deboned and added it to my Pasta Pomodoro and the two together were heavenly. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baldwinsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sharyn
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
This dish needed a little background sweetness. I used chicken broth (instead of white wine and water as directed), so it's probably my fault. A sweet white wine may have provided what I thought was missing. For me, I'll make it again using chicken broth, but I'll add some marmalade, brown sugar, or a little honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I have made this several times and it is always excellent. It has become one of my favorites. Perfect as written, and still good without shallots when I don't have them. I usually try to use fresh rosemary when I have it. It's quick and easy for a busy night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This was excellent. Lovely flavor. The only change I made was to use onion instead of shallots. I didn't give it 5 stars because I'm not the biggest fan of the flour coating and may try it without next time, but it might not be as tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
This was fabulous! I am teaching my 14 year old son to cook using recipes. He picked this to make and it was very easy to follow the directions. Everyone was raving about his success with this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States