Chicken Scampi II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
OMG, this is AMAZING! We loved it! After reading the reviews I added some things. I added 1/4 cup of white wine (Chardonnay) when I added the lemon juice, I used 2 tbs of lemon juice instead of 1, a couple more cloves of fresh garlic, and I sauted red and yellow pepper, mushrooms, and red onions and added them in with the chicken. I also added the pasta in with the chicken at the end so it could get all the great flavor! My husband kept saying this tastes like restaurant quality and it really did! It's really fresh tasting and you can taste every ingredient. It wasn't too greasy either. It would be great to serve for company and it's super easy too! Thanks for the great Italian recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
751 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2006
This recipe is INCREDIBLE. It is most definitely the base for creating an authentic Olive Garden-style Chicken Scampi. I used chicken tenderloins instead of sliced breasts and coated them in flour before cooking them. A also added extra garlic, since I'm a garlic lover. When the chicken was almost done cooking I added red onion and red, yellow, and green bell pepper cut into strips. Serve over angel hair pasta and and top with grated Parmesan cheese and I don't think anyone could tell the difference between this and the restaurant original! The only thing I recommend is keeping the heat down to medium - the chicken will cook slower but the garlic won't get burned - burned garlic will utterly ruin the whole meal with its bitter taste. Thank-you, thank-you, thank-you Cyndee for this wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
428 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
What a great recipe! I ended up serving it over angle hair pasta and it worked out perfectly for two... you may want to consider doubling the recipe if you're thinking about serving more people than I did. Otherwise, I added about a half cup of white wine to the sauce while the chicken was cooking and cut up a tomato for some more color. I cooked the chicken on low heat and would suggest doing so if any of you try this. Too high and you'll sear it (trap the juices inside) and prevent it from flavoring the sauce... which it does beautifully! Also, I parboiled some broccoli, sauteed it in garlic, and added it right before I served everything -- turned out so well!!! Top it with parmasean cheese for the finishing touch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Very good! I carefully read through a great amount of reviews and followed some good suggestions - 1/2 the butter in the recipe, use only 2 Tlbs. of Olive oil, more garlic (I used 4 big cloves), added 1/2 cup of white wine, 1 diced tomato for color, added a small red chili pepper chopped fine and last but not least topped it with fresh grated parmasan cheese. It came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
Delicious!! One of the cooks at my Dad's restaurant used to make this for me every day when I was a kid. Being very picky, it was one of the few things they could get me to eat. I've ordered chicken scampi in rest. a number of times in hopes that it would be the dish I ate as a kid. No luck....until now!! I will make this again and again. Perhaps try adding a little white wine sometime, maybe a little more lemon and a little less salt. But it's great as is. I actually like the large amount of butter and olive oil sauce it yeilds as it is great over pasta. Be sure to have some fresh Parmesan to grate over the top when serving. Goes great over angel hair and makes awesome leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrincessJenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2004
This was delicious! I did cut out a lot of fat and calories by browning the chicken and spices in only 1/4 cup butter, then added 1/2 cup of chicken broth and let the chicken simmer until done, then added some cornstarch to thicken it up just a little. Served over angel hair pasta with salad and french bread. It was a wonderful, fairly low fat meal. I will be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
The chicken in this recipe was good, but the sauce just didn't really do it for me. It needed something else. If I make again I will try adding a little wine or chicken broth so I can reduce it and get better flavor. Also, I though there was just too much butter and oil. I will cut it in half next time. I tried putting the left over oil/butter mix over pasta, but it really have no flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
I was surprised at how good this dish was. It was also a cinch to prepare. I didn't measure a thing, I just added as much as I like. I used fresh basil and fresh parsley from my herb garden, that made a huge difference. Also, I tossed the cooked pasta in the dish I made the sauce in to make sure it coated well. I don't recommend cooking the chicken for 10-15 minutes, check it after 5. This dish was good enough to make for company. Thanks for sharing. I've had this recipe for years now and am glad I finally tried it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
This has amazing flavor. I love shrimp scampi and this is just as good. Definately a keeper. There was a bit of extra butter sauce left over...but the dinner roll idea was great to soak it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2001
A fast and very good dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 784) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Chicken Scampi

See how to make a quick and creamy chicken pasta that's a twist on shrimp scampi.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States